Pin It
Favorite
click to enlarge ikyav_pikyav_postcard_front.jpg

Uploaded by Kylie Maxfield

Ikyav, Píkyav: Making, Re-Making 

When: Tue., April 23, 12-5 p.m., Wed., April 24, 12-5 p.m., Thu., April 25, 12-7 p.m., Fri., April 26, 12-7 p.m., Sat., April 27, 12-5 p.m., Sun., April 28, 12-5 p.m., Tue., April 30, 12-5 p.m., Wed., May 1, 12-5 p.m., Thu., May 2, 12-7 p.m., Fri., May 3, 12-7 p.m., Sat., May 4, 12-5 p.m., Sun., May 5, 12-5 p.m., Tue., May 7, 12-5 p.m., Wed., May 8, 12-5 p.m., Thu., May 9, 12-7 p.m., Fri., May 10, 12-7 p.m., Sat., May 11, 12-5 p.m., Sun., May 12, 12-5 p.m., Tue., May 14, 12-5 p.m., Wed., May 15, 12-5 p.m., Thu., May 16, 12-7 p.m., Fri., May 17, 12-7 p.m. and Sat., May 18, 12-5 p.m.
Email: hsugalleries@humboldt.edu
This two-part exhibition opens with a celebration of the HSU Indian Tribal & Educational Personnel Program's 50th anniversary. The exhibition’s second half explores the 1970s-80s fight against the building of a road between Gasquet and Orleans, through traditional ceremonial sites of the Karuk, Yurok, and Tolowa tribes. As a whole, this exhibition pays homage to Indigenous peoples’ reclamation of agency, sovereignty, and power, highlighting examples of making and re-making, of fixing the earth. This exhibition opens in the HSU Goudi’ni Native American Arts Gallery on Thursday, April 4, with a reception, 4:30-6:30pm, in the Goudi’ni Gallery.

Map

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Search Events…

Nearby

© 2019 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation