Politics

Saturday, June 11, 2022

NCJ Preview: Election Recap and Happy Lao New Year

Posted By on Sat, Jun 11, 2022 at 11:25 AM

The June 7 election is wrapped up — almost. We've got a rundown of who won what and how close the races are that still haven't been called. That includes the landslide in the auditor-controller race and the 50 percent Natalie Arroyo clings to in the supervisor race. We're also doing an after-party revel in the return of the Lao New Year festivities after a two-year COVID hiatus and what the event means to the close-knit community. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Sunday, May 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: All in the Game - Elections and Arcades

Posted By on Sun, May 29, 2022 at 2:21 PM

With Election Day drawing near, we're looking at the surprisingly contentious auditor-controller race between Cheryl Dillingham and Karen Paz Dominguez — a race in which the candidates are cordial and supporters are the main source of vitriol. We'll get into some background and why accounting is such a hot topic these days. And break out your change jar and gather your quarters because Arcada, the vintage video game and small plates bar from the ladies at Slice of Humboldt Pie, is open at last after a two-year hiatus. We'll talk about the joys of boneless Buffalo wings and Centipede. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 14, 2022

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Brett Watson and Genius Rice

Posted By on Sat, May 14, 2022 at 7:00 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is here with a rundown of classes, camps and workshops to entertain the kids when school is out. Everything from surfing to stage fighting to science camps are in there and we're going over the highlights. We'll also look at what we know about the sexual harassment allegations against Arcata Councilmember Brett Watson based on an outside firm's investigation and some 400 pages of text messages between him and a subordinate employee. And finally, we're happy to share a Chinese recipe for rice that may become your new favorite main dish. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, October 16, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccines and County Staff, Police Shooting Footage and Restoring the Eureka Theater

Posted By on Sat, Oct 16, 2021 at 2:08 PM

This week we're looking at why the board of supervisors declined to require vaccines for county employees, going for weekly testing for the unvaccinated instead. We're also going into what's on newly released footage from last month's police shooting of a suspect on Mad River Road, as well as how law affects what's made public and how. Meanwhile, in Eureka, an architectural jewel is getting some shine as the Streamline Moderne Eureka Theater is restored, including the secret apartment upstairs. Finally, we've got a little taste of the Feast of our Lady of Fatima at Ferndale's Portuguese Hall. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, September 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: Enterprise, Burgers, Place Names and Etiquette

Posted By on Sat, Sep 25, 2021 at 5:18 PM

This week we're looking at the future of the Ferndale Enterprise, newly purchased by North Coast Journal Inc. And it's Burger Week, so we're sharing what's whetting our appetites and whether you can eat 28 burgers in 10 days. Good luck, friends. We'll take a look at the effort to rename Patrick's Point, its fraught history and its recreated Sumeg Village. Finally, we're talking about a little COVID safety and etiquette satire, and why you shouldn't lean on that reply-all button. Do, however, hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around our county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Servers Under Pressure, Risking Bars and Barbecues, and Voting by Mail

Posted By on Thu, Jul 2, 2020 at 1:18 PM

This week's conversation with Access Humboldt starts with the flak Humboldt restaurant staff are taking from patrons who don't want to wear masks. On top of the stresses of increased protocols during the pandemic and exposure to scores of local and visiting customers, it's a lot. And while opening bars is a concern, Humboldt's public health officer warns casual socializing between households — our friends and families — is a major threat to safety. We've also got a breakdown of voting by mail in November. Hit subscribe for weekly updates. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Top Commenters

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation