Politics

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Servers Under Pressure, Risking Bars and Barbecues, and Voting by Mail

Posted By on Thu, Jul 2, 2020 at 1:18 PM

This week's conversation with Access Humboldt starts with the flak Humboldt restaurant staff are taking from patrons who don't want to wear masks. On top of the stresses of increased protocols during the pandemic and exposure to scores of local and visiting customers, it's a lot. And while opening bars is a concern, Humboldt's public health officer warns casual socializing between households — our friends and families — is a major threat to safety. We've also got a breakdown of voting by mail in November. Hit subscribe for weekly updates. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, January 19, 2020

North Coast Journal Preview: Video

Posted By on Sun, Jan 19, 2020 at 6:47 PM

If you've tuned in to Access Humboldt's channel 12 lately, you may have seen (or heard, if you listen to its radio station KZZH 96.7 FM at noon and 5 p.m.) the North Coast Journal Preview. In the weekly segment, members of the Journal's editorial staff sit down with host David Frank for a few minutes to talk about the stories we just went to press with. You can also subscribe to the NCJ YouTube channel — click the little red button! — for weekly episodes. 


If aren't already familiar with Access Humboldt, let's catch you up. The nonprofit media organization is hunkered down on the Eureka High School campus, where it offers members video and audio equipment training for working in the field or in its fully equipped studio. (That podcast you've been daydreaming about? AH can help with that.) Access Humboldt runs four TV channels on Suddenlink: edc8 (covering local education institutes); civic10 (covering local government and public meetings); AH-11 and AH-12 (airing video submissions from local residents and organizations).

Miss your favorite KHSU programs? KZZH, which you can also stream online, has picked up a few others besides the North Coast Journal Preview, including: Food For Thought, Radio Centro, Radio Bilingue Weekly Newscast, Live Your Language, Community Calendar, Sound Ecology, EcoNews Report, Cosmic Calendar, Here’s A Story, Looking Back, Redwood Wonk (formerly Thursday Night Talk), Cool Solutions and Democracy Now. Learn more about the organization and its work bringing news and information to our community here
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation