Opinion

Saturday, May 7, 2022

NCJ Preview: The Search for Emmi and the Relief of Rage Runs

Posted By on Sat, May 7, 2022 at 10:50 AM

May 5 was a day of awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and 2 Spirit People. For contributor Cutcha Risling Baldy, it's personal, as her cousin Emmilee Risling is among the missing. This week we have Risling Baldy's personal account and how a nonprofit brought resources for a massive search that isn't over yet. We're also talking about running to deal with pandemic-level stress. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, January 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Behind the Top 10s of 2021

Posted By on Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 8:00 AM

As the year comes to an end, we're talking about the Top 10 stories fo 2021 from this week's cover — COVID, Su-Meg, local government and more — and how we came up with our list. That includes how we determined the Top 10 Dick Moves and why we dig into the pettiness. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, March 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Anti-Asian Racism, Government Transparency and Those EPD Texts

Posted By on Sat, Mar 27, 2021 at 9:00 AM

This week we're talking about how the recent shootings in Atlanta and their aftermath fit a historic pattern of anti-Asian racism and how the national trend ripples to Humboldt. We've also got the Foilies, the annual roundup of outrageous incidents of redaction and refusal of public records. And we're following up on the Eureka Police Department scandal relating to violent and misogynistic leaked text messages. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: HSU's Polytechnic Hopes and a Skate Ramp Grows in Petrolia

Posted By on Sat, Feb 13, 2021 at 10:00 AM

Is Humboldt State University ready to become a STEM-heavy polytechnic? We're discussing the financial boon and the housing burden if it happens. And if you've ever wondered how that half pipe out in the middle of Petrolia got there, we've got the tale of how the community pulled together to build it and keep it going for 21 years. Finally, if you've hit the "pandemic wall," maybe a little humor and meditation will help keep you going. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation