Opinion

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation