Medical / Health

Thursday, May 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Drought, Humboldt's High COVID Numbers and Monster Advice

Posted By on Thu, May 27, 2021 at 5:57 PM

This week we're looking at how historic drought conditions are hitting the state and our county, and what it means for fires, salmon and daily life for residents amid what may be our new climate normal. And how did Humboldt wind up with the state's worst COVID-19 numbers? And how can we turn it around? We've got a story on where all the bicycles have gone during the pandemic, as well as a little humor, imagining how the CDC might handle vampires and zombies. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19's Local Casualties, the Privilege of Vaccine Access and the Future of a Farm Stand

Posted By on Sat, May 22, 2021 at 9:00 AM

On the anniversary of Humboldt's first COVID-19 death, we're looking back on the people we lost with glimpses of their lives gleaned from obituaries and interviews with family members. We're also talking about the vaccines we now have access to — a live-saving option those lost didn't have — and what it could mean if we don't take advantage and get Humboldt vaccinated. Lastly, we're looking at the future of Kneeland Glen Farm Stand, the owner of which is facing eviction by the Northcoast Regional Land Trust, which owns the property as part of the Freshwater Farms Reserve. Hit subscribe for updates on Humboldt County stories every week. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 15, 2021

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Vaccine Supplies and Oyster Fest

Posted By on Sat, May 15, 2021 at 9:07 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is out now, with plenty of COVID-19 adapted fun to occupy the kids. On the news side, we've got the tale the rush to get vaccines to Humboldt in the wake of a missed shipment and how we ended up with a glut of vaccines in time for broadened eligibility. We're also looking at the plans taking shape for this year's Arcata Bay Oyster Festival, which will have both virtual and in-person components. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 1, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccinations and Spicy Noodles

Posted By on Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:30 AM

What's with these empty vaccination appointments? With cases spiking once again, public health officials are trying new strategies to get shots in arms. We're also sharing a recipe for heating things up with cold sesame-peanut noodles. Hit subscribe to get weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, April 3, 2021

NCJ Preview: Inside a Vaccination Clinic and a Cooperative Approach to Breakfast

Posted By on Sat, Apr 3, 2021 at 10:07 AM

This week we're talking about the Journal's new owner, the mass vaccination clinics put on by Mad River Community Hospital and the push to reach herd immunity in Humboldt County. Plus, we discuss a cooperative new breakfast venture in Arcata. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Breakdown on COVID-19 and Vaccines, and Asian Takeout in Hoopa

Posted By on Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 10:38 AM

It's been a week full of news about Humboldt's new COVID-19 cases, risk tier, and vaccine availability and distribution. We'll give you the rundown on where things stand right now. We've also got a story about how a Native family food business is thriving at the Hoopa Trading Post, bringing Southeast Asian home cooking to folks there under a different approach to boosting the economy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Humboldt's COVID Variant and Under the Table Food Businesses

Posted By on Sat, Feb 27, 2021 at 12:26 PM

Humboldt is back in the red risk tier — we'll talk about why and what it means, as well as how the county ended up with its own COVID variant. Also, home cooks and out-of-work professionals are cooking and selling meals from home to make ends meet. But unlike in other counties in California, it's not legal. Hit subscribe to get updates on local stories every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, February 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: HSU's Polytechnic Hopes and a Skate Ramp Grows in Petrolia

Posted By on Sat, Feb 13, 2021 at 10:00 AM

Is Humboldt State University ready to become a STEM-heavy polytechnic? We're discussing the financial boon and the housing burden if it happens. And if you've ever wondered how that half pipe out in the middle of Petrolia got there, we've got the tale of how the community pulled together to build it and keep it going for 21 years. Finally, if you've hit the "pandemic wall," maybe a little humor and meditation will help keep you going. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Eureka's Needle Exchange Battle and Supporting BIPOC Youth

Posted By on Sat, Feb 6, 2021 at 12:02 PM

This week we're looking into how and why the city of Eureka continues to butt heads with Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction over needle exchange. Also, we're talking about a new local nonprofit nurturing and supporting BIPOC youth, HC Black Music and Arts Association. Its organizers are putting on Harambee Liberation Month, a series of Zoom workshops, classes and presentations, as well as a memorial march for kids and families, all February. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 23, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccination, Losing a Local Icon and Small Restaurant Survival

Posted By on Sat, Jan 23, 2021 at 10:00 AM

This week we're looking into the plan to vaccinate Humboldt residents — how it's going and what's in the way. We'll look back at the life of local restaurant owner Esteban Gonzales, who died last week, and the lives he impacted. And while the pandemic has been brutal on restaurants, we talked to folks at a pair of two- to three-person operations that are staying afloat. Hit subscribe for weekly chats about the stories people are talking about in Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation