Medical / Health

Friday, November 27, 2020

NCJ Preview: Rules of the Purple Tier and Camping in Eureka, and Yurok Food Sovereignty

Posted By on Fri, Nov 27, 2020 at 1:45 PM

Linda Stansberry breaks down the Eureka City Council's vote on camping and its impact on Eureka's homeless population. We'll also review what is and isn't allowed in the state's purple "widespread" risk tier for COVID-19, where Humboldt County now finds itself. And we'll look at how the Yurok Agricultural Corp. is trying to help those on the Yurok Reservation — declared a food desert by the FDA — grow their own food. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 19, 2020

NCJ Preview: Into the Red Tier, a Dam Update and a Pass for Thanksgiving

Posted By on Thu, Nov 19, 2020 at 5:59 PM

How did Humboldt County end up in the red substantial risk tier for COVID? We'll explain how our numbers have been climbing and what's been contributing to the rise in COVID-19 cases. And the bad news is you need to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering. The good news is you get to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering! We're looking on the bright side and how you can follow your bliss, care for absent loved ones and help your community without engaging in risky celebrations. We've also got updates on the Klamath Dams and how Dell'Arte students are performing their thesis projects under shelter in place. For weekly updates on stories Humboldt is talking about, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, October 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Overcoming Childhood Trauma and the Limits of Stress Cooking

Posted By on Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 9:02 AM

This week's cover story is about how childhood stress and trauma connect to serious health issues in adulthood, like addiction and even cancer. But it's not hopeless, as a program addressing adverse childhood experiences here in Humboldt shows — even amid the added stresses of a pandemic. Speaking of which, we're also talking about the limits of cooking and comfort food to get us through. What do we do when the coping mechanisms we rely on lose their effectiveness? Mostly we keep cooking. Hit subscribe and join the weekly conversation about Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, September 18, 2020

NCJ Preview: Smoke, Fire and Risking Live Shows in a Pandemic

Posted By on Fri, Sep 18, 2020 at 1:04 PM

Fire everywhere and smoke all over Humboldt. We'll break down what's happening with the closes wildfires and why even places some distance away were blanketed with smoke and orange haze last week. Plus what the future of the North Coast looks like in terms of climate and fire. We're also talking about venues that are going ahead with live shows despite public health orders and those holding back. What are the risks of deciding the show must go on? Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, September 3, 2020

NCJ Preview: Farewell Frankovich, New Reopening Guidelines and Humboldt To Go

Posted By on Thu, Sep 3, 2020 at 9:48 AM

This week starts with the news of Humboldt County Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich's resignation. Then we're breaking down what the new state guidelines mean for Humboldt County, and how local testing and cases can looses or tighten restrictions on businesses like gyms and restaurants during shelter in place. We're also looking into how a Facebook group about takeout, Humboldt To Go, blew up in terms of membership and controversy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, July 30, 2020

NCJ Preview: Grand Jury Reports, Powers Creek Produce and Flocking Up

Posted By on Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:33 PM

The Grand Jury reports are in — what does that mean? We're talking with Access Humboldt about how this team of volunteers acts as a kind of watchdog over everything in our county from criminal investigations to mental health care. And if you've ever thought about getting into the small-scale produce racket or raising your own chickens, we've got a pair of stories about how a Blue Lake stand cropped up to fill a need and how you can get hours of entertainment and the best eggs of your life by becoming a "flockster." Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 23, 2020

NCJ Preview: Early Prison Releases, Socially Distant Hikes and Lao Dishes on the Menu

Posted By on Thu, Jul 23, 2020 at 5:41 PM

This week we're taking a tour around the county with photographer Mark Larson, who's turned socially distant hiking into a mission. We're also looking at how Public Health and parole staff are handling the logistics and health concerns regarding early release for state prisoners. And if you've been waiting for Lao food to show up in a local restaurant, now is your moment — we'll share how chef Ronnie Worasen is bringing back khao poon and other specialties. Hit subscribe and get weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 16, 2020

NCJ Preview: How COVID-19 Hits Latinx Humboldt Hardest and Closing Bars and Dining Rooms

Posted By on Thu, Jul 16, 2020 at 1:12 PM

This week we're talking with Access Humboldt about the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on Latinx and Hispanic communities in Humboldt. And as confirmed cases spike in California, spurring the closure of bars and ending indoor dining service, we'll share what restaurant and bar owners and workers are going through and how they're coping. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories via the Journal's YouTube Channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation