Medical / Health

Monday, July 15, 2024

NCJ Preview: King Salmon Falafel, Crab Walking, and Free Dentistry at the Adorni Center

Posted By on Mon, Jul 15, 2024 at 10:44 AM

On today's episode of the NCJ Preview, we talk about the Humboldt Crabs baseball game experience, as well as falafel in King Salmon and how Dr. Tom Lewis brought agree-two day medical and dental clinic to the Adorni Center in Eureka. 

READ FULL STORIES HERE: 
Falafelove Blooms in King Salmon
The Jury Is In
Nonprofit Brings Free Dental, Medical Clinic to Humboldt
Resilient Crabs Rally Behind Three Walk-off Wins 

To read more about us or our work visit: www.northcoastjournal.com
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Monday, November 20, 2023

Housing Complications and Restaurants for Sale

Posted By on Mon, Nov 20, 2023 at 9:51 PM

This week we're looking into the complicated business of housing  veterans and people with severe mental illness in Eureka. We're also talking about why so many restaurants are up for sale across our county. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Monday, July 24, 2023

NCJ Preview: Rodeo, a Teacher Pays it Forward and a Food Truck Heads North

Posted By on Mon, Jul 24, 2023 at 7:00 AM

We're talking about local photographer Mark Larson's rodeo pictures, hunger in Humboldt, a teacher's quest to give back and the Pineapple Express food truck's improbable and delicious journey. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 27, 2023

NCJ Preview: CPH's Fire Fight, Police Shooting, Spiked Drinks and Oyster Fest Beer

Posted By on Thu, Apr 27, 2023 at 12:45 PM

This week's cover story dives into the tug of war over wildfire training degrees and whether Cal Poly Humboldt has the right to call dibs on them. We're updating on the police shooting in Eureka stemming from an alleged armed robbery and assault, and a high-speed chase, as well. We've got what you need to know about recent reports of drink spiking at bars and how to stay safe. Finally, the beer on tap at Oyster Fest has been announced and it's an interesting brew. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, January 27, 2023

NCJ Preview: Abortion Access, Native Foodways for Youth

Posted By on Fri, Jan 27, 2023 at 9:36 AM

This week, for our Health and Wellness issue, we're talking about local barriers to abortion access, despite legal rights. Funding, transportation, Catholic-run hospitals and can make it difficult to make reproductive choices here in Humboldt. We'll also look back at the tragedies of deadly illegal abortions through Humboldt's history. We're also checking out how a program at the Rou Dalagurr Indigenous Food Sovereignty Lab will teach Native Youth traditional foodways, connecting them to the local land, community, previous generations and the future on the North Coast. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Monday, January 9, 2023

NCJ Preview: 2022 Photos, Domestic Violence and Relief in Rio Dell

Posted By on Mon, Jan 9, 2023 at 1:53 PM

This week we're perusing Mark Larson's photo's of Humboldt in 2022. We're also looking at a tragic killing in Eureka and how it appears to fit a tragically familiar pattern of domestic violence. In the wake of the Jan. 1 aftershock, which hit Rio Dell even harder than the Dec. 20 quake in some respects, we're talking about what help is needed, how local organizations and everyday people are pitching in,  and how it's impacting the town's small community of restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 24, 2022

NCJ Preview: The Big Quake, Underreported Stories and Disco Baking

Posted By on Sat, Dec 24, 2022 at 10:13 AM

We're looking at the evolving impacts of the 6.4 magnitude earthquake that hit Humboldt County in the early hours of Dec. 20, as well as the resources and recovery efforts. This week's cover story has underreported stories from around the country and the billionaire takeover of news media. And if you're still baking holiday cookies and treats, we've got a look at Cal Poly Humboldt alum Esteban Castillo's disco-fabulous Chicano Bakes cookbook. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, November 19, 2022

NCJ Preview: Skilled Nursing and Feeding Those in Need

Posted By on Sat, Nov 19, 2022 at 8:00 AM

This week we're looking into issues in our local skilled nursing facilities — understaffing, lack of care — and how their owner's business practices play into the problems while making big profits. We're also talking about the St. Vincent de Paul Dining Facility in Eureka, and how the small staff and volunteers are feeding folks experiencing food insecurity and homelessness no matter what. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, October 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Women in Policing, Fall Food and More

Posted By on Sat, Oct 1, 2022 at 2:20 PM

This week we've got a profile of Cpl. Crystal Landry of the Rio Dell Police Department and the recruitment effort to get more women in local policing. And since it's officially fall, we've got seasonal garden clean-up advice and a dumpling recipe for young green pumpkins. Finally, we've got a little satire about reproductive freedom and baby showers.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, July 9, 2022

NCJ Preview: Firefighter PTSD, Auditor-Controller Deal, Boozy Summer Pie

Posted By on Sat, Jul 9, 2022 at 8:30 AM

The wildfires aren't just devastating our landscapes, they're taking a massive toll on the people who fight them. This week we're talking about the rising PTSD crisis among Cal Fire firefighters and what's being done to combat it. And the county has struck a deal to shorten Auditor-Controller Karen Paz Dominguez' lame duck time. We'll get into what the price tag comes out to and why. And finally, we've got a recipe mashup of vintage desserts: classic vanilla pudding pie and strawberries Romanoff. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2024 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation