Medical / Health

Saturday, July 9, 2022

NCJ Preview: Firefighter PTSD, Auditor-Controller Deal, Boozy Summer Pie

Posted By on Sat, Jul 9, 2022 at 8:30 AM

The wildfires aren't just devastating our landscapes, they're taking a massive toll on the people who fight them. This week we're talking about the rising PTSD crisis among Cal Fire firefighters and what's being done to combat it. And the county has struck a deal to shorten Auditor-Controller Karen Paz Dominguez' lame duck time. We'll get into what the price tag comes out to and why. And finally, we've got a recipe mashup of vintage desserts: classic vanilla pudding pie and strawberries Romanoff. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 2, 2022

NCJ Preview: Post-Roe, Pride and Oyster Fest Fallout

Posted By on Sat, Jul 2, 2022 at 8:30 AM

After last week's U.S. Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade, we're talking about what it means for California and how we can fight for reproductive rights for everyone. Linda Stansberry joins us to talk about Ferndale Pride and the folks who are making the Victorian Village more welcoming to all. We've got a post-oyster festival breakdown — what it was like off the plaza and in person, and why all those lines were so long. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 19, 2022

NCJ Preview: Opium History, a Softball Swan Song, Birding Dads and Popping Up

Posted By on Sun, Jun 19, 2022 at 11:02 AM

This week's cover looks back at Humboldt's history, specifically how opium addiction gripped so many in the 1880s and how it parallels our current opiate crisis. We've also got the story of Hailey Dolcini, a Ferndale-raised softball player whose grit and pitching arm led her to a historic performance in the Women's College World Series. Father's Day weekend has birder Sarah Hobart's thoughts turning to her birding mentor dad and we'll talk about how he instilled curiosity and appreciation for nature in his kids. Lastly, we'll give you a taste of what chef Rochelle Burgess cooked up at her first pop-up event. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 19, 2022

NCJ Preview: Dropping the Mask Mandate and Mobile and Pop-up Restaurants

Posted By on Sat, Feb 19, 2022 at 6:00 AM

Humboldt County is following the state's lead in dropping its indoor mask mandate for fully vaccinated people, and we take a look at why. And we're looking at how a pair of restaurants are adapting to ongoing COVID life, one by dropping the brick and mortar in favor of a truck, the other by turning to events and "pop-up" dinners. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 12, 2022

NCJ Preview: Potter Plans, Measure S, Masks and Analog Art

Posted By on Sat, Feb 12, 2022 at 8:00 AM

PG&E changes course to continue operating the Potter Valley hydroelectric dams, which divert water from the Russian River, instead of shutting down as previously stated — we're looking at what this means for the salmon, the stakeholders, water rights and the "two-basin solution." We've also got an update on Measure S as the Board of Supervisors votes to suspend late payment and heavily reduce cannabis cultivation tax for next year, all of which will impact the county's budget. And we're looking at what to expect when the masking order in our county expires despite our test positivity soaring above statewide numbers. Finally, we've got a story about an art exhibit at the Morris Graves Museum of Art that looks at obelete objects and what they still mean to us. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 5, 2022

NCJ Preview: Cal Poly Humboldt Plans, Feeding Lao and Hmong Families

Posted By on Sat, Feb 5, 2022 at 8:30 AM

What does the shift to Cal Poly Humboldt mean beyond a run on HSU hoodies? We'll break down the infrastructure, curriculum and housing impacts on the university, the city of Arcata and Humboldt at large. We've also got a story on how Hmong and Lao community members are working with Redwood Coast Regional Center and Food for People to get needed staples and product to families in need. Hit subscribe for weekly update on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 15, 2022

NCJ Preview: Spectator Ban, Outgoing Health Officer, Cookie Perfectionism and More

Posted By on Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 2:06 PM

There'll be no spectators at Humboldt County school sporting events, at least for the next couple of weeks. We'll go into how the Humboldt Del Norte League came to that decision in the face of quickly rising COVID-19 case numbers and the ensuing backlash. We'll also get into where our county is in terms of Omicron spread, hospital staffing and the announcement that Public Health Officer Ian Hoffman will be leaving his post. If you're staying home these days, this issue has a few suggestions for spending your time, including perfecting your dream chocolate chip cookie, listening to a podcast crime drama set in Humboldt and learning about elephant seals. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Behind the Top 10s of 2021

Posted By on Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 8:00 AM

As the year comes to an end, we're talking about the Top 10 stories fo 2021 from this week's cover — COVID, Su-Meg, local government and more — and how we came up with our list. That includes how we determined the Top 10 Dick Moves and why we dig into the pettiness. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, December 19, 2021

NCJ Preview: ACEs and Doctors, a Cafe's Community

Posted By on Sun, Dec 19, 2021 at 5:00 PM

This week we're looking at how local pediatricians are considering toxic stress and ACEs — adverse childhood experiences — in their diagnoses and treatments. In some cases, that means recommending other means of support and stress relief for kids and their families, instead of immediately turning to medication. It's a holistic approach that's seeing some success. And Old Town Coffee and Chocolates is for sale. We talked to the owners about how the business and its community of patrons have grown and changed over nearly two decades and a pandemic. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Monday, December 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: Missed Messages, Card Art and Taco Joy

Posted By on Mon, Dec 13, 2021 at 10:32 AM

This week we're grateful to be able to share the email correspondence between Heather Muller and her mother over the course of the pandemic and some of the issues it raises: How are we talking with and past one another about safety, vaccination and social isolation? We're also looking at The Card Show, an annual group exhibition that's at Epitome Gallery this year, with 270 playing card sized and inspired pieces. It's a showcase of local artists, a bargain-hunting event and a way to support local creators. Finally, we're talking new Mexican restaurants — Taqueria Tecoman's Mexico City-style offerings in Humboldt Hill and Fortuna's Locha's Mexican Restaurant, which is carrying on the family matriarch's spirit and recipes. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation