Media

Sunday, April 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Toll of Empty Stages, Code Enforcement Piling Up and a COVID Update

Posted By on Sun, Apr 25, 2021 at 11:01 AM

In this week's NCJ Preview, host David Frank and Journal news editor Thadeus Greenson talk about the toll COVID-19 has taken on local musicians, why county code enforcement cases are piling up at an alarming rate and how local COVID-19 case rates are climbing as vaccination appointments go unfilled. Read more about all these stories in this week's Journal, and hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, April 3, 2021

NCJ Preview: Inside a Vaccination Clinic and a Cooperative Approach to Breakfast

Posted By on Sat, Apr 3, 2021 at 10:07 AM

This week we're talking about the Journal's new owner, the mass vaccination clinics put on by Mad River Community Hospital and the push to reach herd immunity in Humboldt County. Plus, we discuss a cooperative new breakfast venture in Arcata. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, April 2, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Apr 2, 2020 at 6:30 PM

This week we're sharing updates about Humboldt's COVID-19 cases and community transmission, and looking back at how the county managed during the 1918-1919 flu epidemic. And why wearing a DIY mask is a way to put your community first. Click subscribe for weekly YouTube video updates.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, January 19, 2020

North Coast Journal Preview: Video

Posted By on Sun, Jan 19, 2020 at 6:47 PM

If you've tuned in to Access Humboldt's channel 12 lately, you may have seen (or heard, if you listen to its radio station KZZH 96.7 FM at noon and 5 p.m.) the North Coast Journal Preview. In the weekly segment, members of the Journal's editorial staff sit down with host David Frank for a few minutes to talk about the stories we just went to press with. You can also subscribe to the NCJ YouTube channel — click the little red button! — for weekly episodes. 


If aren't already familiar with Access Humboldt, let's catch you up. The nonprofit media organization is hunkered down on the Eureka High School campus, where it offers members video and audio equipment training for working in the field or in its fully equipped studio. (That podcast you've been daydreaming about? AH can help with that.) Access Humboldt runs four TV channels on Suddenlink: edc8 (covering local education institutes); civic10 (covering local government and public meetings); AH-11 and AH-12 (airing video submissions from local residents and organizations).

Miss your favorite KHSU programs? KZZH, which you can also stream online, has picked up a few others besides the North Coast Journal Preview, including: Food For Thought, Radio Centro, Radio Bilingue Weekly Newscast, Live Your Language, Community Calendar, Sound Ecology, EcoNews Report, Cosmic Calendar, Here’s A Story, Looking Back, Redwood Wonk (formerly Thursday Night Talk), Cool Solutions and Democracy Now. Learn more about the organization and its work bringing news and information to our community here
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation