Government

Saturday, October 16, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccines and County Staff, Police Shooting Footage and Restoring the Eureka Theater

Posted By on Sat, Oct 16, 2021 at 2:08 PM

This week we're looking at why the board of supervisors declined to require vaccines for county employees, going for weekly testing for the unvaccinated instead. We're also going into what's on newly released footage from last month's police shooting of a suspect on Mad River Road, as well as how law affects what's made public and how. Meanwhile, in Eureka, an architectural jewel is getting some shine as the Streamline Moderne Eureka Theater is restored, including the secret apartment upstairs. Finally, we've got a little taste of the Feast of our Lady of Fatima at Ferndale's Portuguese Hall. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, October 9, 2021

NCJ Daily: Law Enforcement Staffing, the Symphony's Return and Candy Corn Hate

Posted By on Sat, Oct 9, 2021 at 8:30 AM

This week, we're talking about the trouble local law enforcement agencies are having filling their ranks and keeping cops on board. We'll sort through the myriad reasons and theories for the hiring challenges. Also, it's been a long time since Setlist columnist Collin Yeo hit a live performance. His story this week both reviews the Eureka Symphony's 30th opening weekend at the Arkley Center for the Performing Arts and shares what it's like attending an in-person show again, this time with vaccination cards and masks. Finally, we're indulging our sweet tooth and reveling in the cloying joy of candy corn, the seasonal treat folks love to hate. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, September 18, 2021

NCJ Preview: Otters, Police Transparency and Blackberry Mania

Posted By on Sat, Sep 18, 2021 at 8:18 AM

This week we're talking about the North Coast Otter Art Initiative and the beautiful painted sculptures created by local artists to raise money for otter research. We defy you to scroll through the offerings without smiling. We're also looking at the importance of de-escalation how a new law makes it possible to gain access to footage of police shootings and use-of-force incidents. Finally, we're celebrating the end of summer with hardcore berry picking and homemade pie. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from all over Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Monday, August 30, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19, Street Art and a Recall

Posted By on Mon, Aug 30, 2021 at 7:12 AM

This week, we take a closer look at Humboldt County's current COVID-19 surge, which is fueled by the highly contagious Delta variant and threatening local hospital capacity with reverberating impacts. We also discuss the festival transforming Eureka's streets with colorful murals, and what voters need to know to fill out their ballots for the upcoming California recall election. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 26, 2021

NCJ Preview: Lawyers in Trouble, Live Music and Indoor Dining

Posted By on Sat, Jun 26, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we've got a story about the state bar possibly suspending a pair of lawyers for ethics violations while representing the county in a case that's already yielded a $1 million lawsuit. Setlist columnist Collin Yeo joins us to talk about the thrill and anxiety of inching back to live music shows, and highlights of this week's gigs. We're also looking at how restaurants are taking varied approaches to seating capacity and masking now that indoor dining restrictions have been lifted. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 12, 2021

NCJ Preview: Policing the Police, Return of the Crabs and Rice Dumplings

Posted By on Sat, Jun 12, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we're talking about the Humboldt County Sheriff's Office and Sgt. Jason Daniels, who remains on the payroll despite documented misconduct, and why it's so hard to make "separation from employment" stick. We're also celebrating the return of Humboldt Crabs baseball and learning to make zongzi rice dumplings at home. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, June 5, 2021

NCJ Preview

Posted By on Sat, Jun 5, 2021 at 8:00 AM

With a new batch of ugly messages between members of a Eureka police unit revealing a culture of misogyny and cruel and violent attitudes toward homeless and mentally ill people, the department faces a reckoning. We'll go over how the police officers' extensive workplace protections affect the impact and secrecy of that reckoning. And Eureka and Arcata have a couple of new food trucks, one at the county's first cannabis consumption lounge, and the other at a winery. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, May 1, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccinations and Spicy Noodles

Posted By on Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:30 AM

What's with these empty vaccination appointments? With cases spiking once again, public health officials are trying new strategies to get shots in arms. We're also sharing a recipe for heating things up with cold sesame-peanut noodles. Hit subscribe to get weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, March 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Anti-Asian Racism, Government Transparency and Those EPD Texts

Posted By on Sat, Mar 27, 2021 at 9:00 AM

This week we're talking about how the recent shootings in Atlanta and their aftermath fit a historic pattern of anti-Asian racism and how the national trend ripples to Humboldt. We've also got the Foilies, the annual roundup of outrageous incidents of redaction and refusal of public records. And we're following up on the Eureka Police Department scandal relating to violent and misogynistic leaked text messages. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Breakdown on COVID-19 and Vaccines, and Asian Takeout in Hoopa

Posted By on Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 10:38 AM

It's been a week full of news about Humboldt's new COVID-19 cases, risk tier, and vaccine availability and distribution. We'll give you the rundown on where things stand right now. We've also got a story about how a Native family food business is thriving at the Hoopa Trading Post, bringing Southeast Asian home cooking to folks there under a different approach to boosting the economy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation