Government

Saturday, May 1, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccinations and Spicy Noodles

Posted By on Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:30 AM

What's with these empty vaccination appointments? With cases spiking once again, public health officials are trying new strategies to get shots in arms. We're also sharing a recipe for heating things up with cold sesame-peanut noodles. Hit subscribe to get weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, March 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Anti-Asian Racism, Government Transparency and Those EPD Texts

Posted By on Sat, Mar 27, 2021 at 9:00 AM

This week we're talking about how the recent shootings in Atlanta and their aftermath fit a historic pattern of anti-Asian racism and how the national trend ripples to Humboldt. We've also got the Foilies, the annual roundup of outrageous incidents of redaction and refusal of public records. And we're following up on the Eureka Police Department scandal relating to violent and misogynistic leaked text messages. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Breakdown on COVID-19 and Vaccines, and Asian Takeout in Hoopa

Posted By on Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 10:38 AM

It's been a week full of news about Humboldt's new COVID-19 cases, risk tier, and vaccine availability and distribution. We'll give you the rundown on where things stand right now. We've also got a story about how a Native family food business is thriving at the Hoopa Trading Post, bringing Southeast Asian home cooking to folks there under a different approach to boosting the economy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Klamath Dam Turning Point and New Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Mar 6, 2021 at 10:49 AM

The agreement to remove the Klamath dams has never seemed so promising but it's taken generations of Native activists and organizers to get here. We're talking about the behind-the-scenes moves, protests and a showdown on the river with Berkshire Hathaway executives, and how they impacted the fight. Also, a trio of new food trucks are feeding locals' cravings for fried chicken, hot salsa, New Orleans fare and COVID-adapted bar service. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Eureka's Needle Exchange Battle and Supporting BIPOC Youth

Posted By on Sat, Feb 6, 2021 at 12:02 PM

This week we're looking into how and why the city of Eureka continues to butt heads with Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction over needle exchange. Also, we're talking about a new local nonprofit nurturing and supporting BIPOC youth, HC Black Music and Arts Association. Its organizers are putting on Harambee Liberation Month, a series of Zoom workshops, classes and presentations, as well as a memorial march for kids and families, all February. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 30, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Broken Recycling System and a Crab Cioppino for the Ages

Posted By on Sat, Jan 30, 2021 at 11:22 AM

This week we're looking at California's recycling deposit system and how it became broken to the point local residents have to drive to Crescent City to redeem their deposits or just accept the deposits as a kind of tax, while local grocers face new fees. It's a mess. Speaking of which, get out your bibs because it's time for crab cioppino! NCJ Freelancer Rod Kausen shares his mother's recipe, which was a mainstay at Ferndale's Ivanhoe for years.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, January 23, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccination, Losing a Local Icon and Small Restaurant Survival

Posted By on Sat, Jan 23, 2021 at 10:00 AM

This week we're looking into the plan to vaccinate Humboldt residents — how it's going and what's in the way. We'll look back at the life of local restaurant owner Esteban Gonzales, who died last week, and the lives he impacted. And while the pandemic has been brutal on restaurants, we talked to folks at a pair of two- to three-person operations that are staying afloat. Hit subscribe for weekly chats about the stories people are talking about in Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, January 10, 2021

NCJ Preview: Teetering Between Risk Tiers and Larrupin Sauce Lost and Found

Posted By on Sun, Jan 10, 2021 at 10:18 AM

This week we're talking about COVID numbers that will likely push Humboldt back into the puple "widespread risk" tier. And if you were wondering why Larrupin sauce was hard to find for a while there, we've got the lowdown on the supply cutoff, shortage, hoarding and scams that kept it off local shelves until recently. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, November 27, 2020

NCJ Preview: Rules of the Purple Tier and Camping in Eureka, and Yurok Food Sovereignty

Posted By on Fri, Nov 27, 2020 at 1:45 PM

Linda Stansberry breaks down the Eureka City Council's vote on camping and its impact on Eureka's homeless population. We'll also review what is and isn't allowed in the state's purple "widespread" risk tier for COVID-19, where Humboldt County now finds itself. And we'll look at how the Yurok Agricultural Corp. is trying to help those on the Yurok Reservation — declared a food desert by the FDA — grow their own food. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Top Commenters

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation