Government

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 30, 2020

NCJ Preview: Grand Jury Reports, Powers Creek Produce and Flocking Up

Posted By on Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:33 PM

The Grand Jury reports are in — what does that mean? We're talking with Access Humboldt about how this team of volunteers acts as a kind of watchdog over everything in our county from criminal investigations to mental health care. And if you've ever thought about getting into the small-scale produce racket or raising your own chickens, we've got a pair of stories about how a Blue Lake stand cropped up to fill a need and how you can get hours of entertainment and the best eggs of your life by becoming a "flockster." Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 16, 2020

NCJ Preview: How COVID-19 Hits Latinx Humboldt Hardest and Closing Bars and Dining Rooms

Posted By on Thu, Jul 16, 2020 at 1:12 PM

This week we're talking with Access Humboldt about the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on Latinx and Hispanic communities in Humboldt. And as confirmed cases spike in California, spurring the closure of bars and ending indoor dining service, we'll share what restaurant and bar owners and workers are going through and how they're coping. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories via the Journal's YouTube Channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Servers Under Pressure, Risking Bars and Barbecues, and Voting by Mail

Posted By on Thu, Jul 2, 2020 at 1:18 PM

This week's conversation with Access Humboldt starts with the flak Humboldt restaurant staff are taking from patrons who don't want to wear masks. On top of the stresses of increased protocols during the pandemic and exposure to scores of local and visiting customers, it's a lot. And while opening bars is a concern, Humboldt's public health officer warns casual socializing between households — our friends and families — is a major threat to safety. We've also got a breakdown of voting by mail in November. Hit subscribe for weekly updates. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, June 18, 2020

NCJ Preview: Know Your Public Health Officer and Jamaican Home Cooking

Posted By on Thu, Jun 18, 2020 at 3:43 PM

We're talking about Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich, profiled in this week's issue. New to her post but with a long resume behind her, colleagues say she's weathering the controversies of masking and sheltering with grace. And Eureka welcomes Jerk Kitchen's Dell Bryan and Joanne Kerr, who are bringing Jamaican cuisine to Humboldt. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt's news and people from NCJ and Access Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 6, 2020

NCJ Preview: Local Protests and Our New Dining Normal

Posted By on Sat, Jun 6, 2020 at 3:08 PM

This week we're talking about the Black Lives Matter/George Floyd protests against police brutality in Eureka. And as restaurants open for dine-in service, what's the new normal and can they survive? Hit subscribe for weekly updates from the NCJ YouTube channel and rundowns of local stories in Humboldt County.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, April 24, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Fri, Apr 24, 2020 at 2:10 PM

This week: We're talking about a photographer taking portraits of people from outside their homes during shelter in place in Blue Lake and the new mask ordinance in Humboldt County. Also, Instacart is gaining popularity under quarantine but it's lagging on getting protective gear to its workers. We'll tell you how one gig worker is getting and giving help in her community. Hit subscribe for weekly updates and conversation on the NCJ YouTube channel.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 9, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Apr 9, 2020 at 11:39 AM

This week: We've got COVID-19 updates for Humboldt County, how Rio Dell and its mayor are stepping up to help seniors and people with disabilities get supplies, and how restaurants are trying to minimize contact with customers and between staff as they pivot to takeout. Hit subscribe for weekly updates from our YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation