Food

Saturday, July 30, 2022

NCJ Preview: Burning the Family Ranch, Roasting Vegetables, Bird Calls and Audits

Posted By on Sat, Jul 30, 2022 at 8:00 AM

This week we're talking about how controlled burning works on private ranch land as wildfire prevention, with staff writer Linda Stansberry sharing her own family's experience. Also, with summer vegetables taking over the local farmers markets, we've got Simona Carini's roasted vegetable recipe, which may have you rethinking your standard sides. And a little bird told us the birds are singing even when we can't see them. We'll talk about some apps for figuring out who's warbling nearby. Finally, we'll break down some of the factors the state controller's office has identified as contributing to Humboldt's overdue financial reports. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Saturday, July 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: An Organic Waste Overhaul and New Food and Brew Offerings in Arcata

Posted By on Sat, Jul 23, 2022 at 7:00 AM

Humboldt County's trash collection system is about to get a lot more complicated, with a new state law taking effect aimed at reducing climate pollutants and creating a closed-loop organic waste economy. Meanwhile, a new brewery and deli in Arcata is offering up sandwiches and small-batch brews and recently released documents shed new light on a chaotic 2016 police shooting in Eureka. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Monday, July 18, 2022

NCJ Preview: A Final Fish Farm EIR, Hate in Humboldt and Thai Food in Willow Creek

Posted By on Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 11:25 AM

This week, we're talking about a new report that attempts to quantify the environmental impacts of what would be the world's largest on-shore fish farm in Samoa. Meanwhile, a rash of incidents involving hate and bigotry marred Humboldt County's July Fourth holiday. And finally, Lily's Thai brings a new dining option near Willow Creek. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 9, 2022

NCJ Preview: Firefighter PTSD, Auditor-Controller Deal, Boozy Summer Pie

Posted By on Sat, Jul 9, 2022 at 8:30 AM

The wildfires aren't just devastating our landscapes, they're taking a massive toll on the people who fight them. This week we're talking about the rising PTSD crisis among Cal Fire firefighters and what's being done to combat it. And the county has struck a deal to shorten Auditor-Controller Karen Paz Dominguez' lame duck time. We'll get into what the price tag comes out to and why. And finally, we've got a recipe mashup of vintage desserts: classic vanilla pudding pie and strawberries Romanoff. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 2, 2022

NCJ Preview: Post-Roe, Pride and Oyster Fest Fallout

Posted By on Sat, Jul 2, 2022 at 8:30 AM

After last week's U.S. Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade, we're talking about what it means for California and how we can fight for reproductive rights for everyone. Linda Stansberry joins us to talk about Ferndale Pride and the folks who are making the Victorian Village more welcoming to all. We've got a post-oyster festival breakdown — what it was like off the plaza and in person, and why all those lines were so long. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 25, 2022

NCJ Preview: Condor Comeback, Grand Jury Report and Wild Morels

Posted By on Sat, Jun 25, 2022 at 8:37 AM

This week we're looking at how the Yurok Tribe's efforts to bring the California condor back to the skies above Humboldt is a cultural, ecological victory with a long road ahead. Mushroom enthusiasts will be happy to hear about this week's recipe for stuffed and steamed morels, for a foraged dim sum dish. We'll touch on weekend fun like the Arcata Bay Oyster Festival and cool tours of the Lanphere Dunes, as well as a rundown of the previous week's Outer Roominations outdoor installation event in Loleta. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 19, 2022

NCJ Preview: Opium History, a Softball Swan Song, Birding Dads and Popping Up

Posted By on Sun, Jun 19, 2022 at 11:02 AM

This week's cover looks back at Humboldt's history, specifically how opium addiction gripped so many in the 1880s and how it parallels our current opiate crisis. We've also got the story of Hailey Dolcini, a Ferndale-raised softball player whose grit and pitching arm led her to a historic performance in the Women's College World Series. Father's Day weekend has birder Sarah Hobart's thoughts turning to her birding mentor dad and we'll talk about how he instilled curiosity and appreciation for nature in his kids. Lastly, we'll give you a taste of what chef Rochelle Burgess cooked up at her first pop-up event. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 11, 2022

NCJ Preview: Election Recap and Happy Lao New Year

Posted By on Sat, Jun 11, 2022 at 11:25 AM

The June 7 election is wrapped up — almost. We've got a rundown of who won what and how close the races are that still haven't been called. That includes the landslide in the auditor-controller race and the 50 percent Natalie Arroyo clings to in the supervisor race. We're also doing an after-party revel in the return of the Lao New Year festivities after a two-year COVID hiatus and what the event means to the close-knit community. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Sunday, May 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: All in the Game - Elections and Arcades

Posted By on Sun, May 29, 2022 at 2:21 PM

With Election Day drawing near, we're looking at the surprisingly contentious auditor-controller race between Cheryl Dillingham and Karen Paz Dominguez — a race in which the candidates are cordial and supporters are the main source of vitriol. We'll get into some background and why accounting is such a hot topic these days. And break out your change jar and gather your quarters because Arcada, the vintage video game and small plates bar from the ladies at Slice of Humboldt Pie, is open at last after a two-year hiatus. We'll talk about the joys of boneless Buffalo wings and Centipede. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 14, 2022

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Brett Watson and Genius Rice

Posted By on Sat, May 14, 2022 at 7:00 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is here with a rundown of classes, camps and workshops to entertain the kids when school is out. Everything from surfing to stage fighting to science camps are in there and we're going over the highlights. We'll also look at what we know about the sexual harassment allegations against Arcata Councilmember Brett Watson based on an outside firm's investigation and some 400 pages of text messages between him and a subordinate employee. And finally, we're happy to share a Chinese recipe for rice that may become your new favorite main dish. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation