Food

Friday, May 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Slowdown Criteria and Soup for Vulnerable Seniors

Posted By on Fri, May 22, 2020 at 1:29 PM

We're with Access Humboldt talking about rising COVID-19 case numbers and opening the county. How many is too many and what would make Humboldt pump the brakes on opening? We've also got a story about the owner of Humboldt Soup Co., who's bringing soup to seniors in low-income housing so they can have nutritious food and so she can sleep at night. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County news and people on the NCJ YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Friday, April 24, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Fri, Apr 24, 2020 at 2:10 PM

This week: We're talking about a photographer taking portraits of people from outside their homes during shelter in place in Blue Lake and the new mask ordinance in Humboldt County. Also, Instacart is gaining popularity under quarantine but it's lagging on getting protective gear to its workers. We'll tell you how one gig worker is getting and giving help in her community. Hit subscribe for weekly updates and conversation on the NCJ YouTube channel.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 16, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt: A Little Good News

Posted By on Thu, Apr 16, 2020 at 11:48 AM

This week: Some much-needed good news. We're looking at how local nonprofits Cooperation Humboldt and Food for People, as well as a tiny school district, are turning their talents and volunteers to help those in need amid COVID-19 and sheltering in place. We're also talking about the meditative benefits of making pasta by hand. Hit subscribe for weekly updates from our YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Thursday, April 9, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Apr 9, 2020 at 11:39 AM

This week: We've got COVID-19 updates for Humboldt County, how Rio Dell and its mayor are stepping up to help seniors and people with disabilities get supplies, and how restaurants are trying to minimize contact with customers and between staff as they pivot to takeout. Hit subscribe for weekly updates from our YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation