Food

Saturday, June 12, 2021

NCJ Preview: Policing the Police, Return of the Crabs and Rice Dumplings

Posted By on Sat, Jun 12, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we're talking about the Humboldt County Sheriff's Office and Sgt. Jason Daniels, who remains on the payroll despite documented misconduct, and why it's so hard to make "separation from employment" stick. We're also celebrating the return of Humboldt Crabs baseball and learning to make zongzi rice dumplings at home. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, June 5, 2021

NCJ Preview

Posted By on Sat, Jun 5, 2021 at 8:00 AM

With a new batch of ugly messages between members of a Eureka police unit revealing a culture of misogyny and cruel and violent attitudes toward homeless and mentally ill people, the department faces a reckoning. We'll go over how the police officers' extensive workplace protections affect the impact and secrecy of that reckoning. And Eureka and Arcata have a couple of new food trucks, one at the county's first cannabis consumption lounge, and the other at a winery. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, May 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19's Local Casualties, the Privilege of Vaccine Access and the Future of a Farm Stand

Posted By on Sat, May 22, 2021 at 9:00 AM

On the anniversary of Humboldt's first COVID-19 death, we're looking back on the people we lost with glimpses of their lives gleaned from obituaries and interviews with family members. We're also talking about the vaccines we now have access to — a live-saving option those lost didn't have — and what it could mean if we don't take advantage and get Humboldt vaccinated. Lastly, we're looking at the future of Kneeland Glen Farm Stand, the owner of which is facing eviction by the Northcoast Regional Land Trust, which owns the property as part of the Freshwater Farms Reserve. Hit subscribe for updates on Humboldt County stories every week. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 15, 2021

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Vaccine Supplies and Oyster Fest

Posted By on Sat, May 15, 2021 at 9:07 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is out now, with plenty of COVID-19 adapted fun to occupy the kids. On the news side, we've got the tale the rush to get vaccines to Humboldt in the wake of a missed shipment and how we ended up with a glut of vaccines in time for broadened eligibility. We're also looking at the plans taking shape for this year's Arcata Bay Oyster Festival, which will have both virtual and in-person components. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 1, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccinations and Spicy Noodles

Posted By on Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:30 AM

What's with these empty vaccination appointments? With cases spiking once again, public health officials are trying new strategies to get shots in arms. We're also sharing a recipe for heating things up with cold sesame-peanut noodles. Hit subscribe to get weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, April 3, 2021

NCJ Preview: Inside a Vaccination Clinic and a Cooperative Approach to Breakfast

Posted By on Sat, Apr 3, 2021 at 10:07 AM

This week we're talking about the Journal's new owner, the mass vaccination clinics put on by Mad River Community Hospital and the push to reach herd immunity in Humboldt County. Plus, we discuss a cooperative new breakfast venture in Arcata. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Breakdown on COVID-19 and Vaccines, and Asian Takeout in Hoopa

Posted By on Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 10:38 AM

It's been a week full of news about Humboldt's new COVID-19 cases, risk tier, and vaccine availability and distribution. We'll give you the rundown on where things stand right now. We've also got a story about how a Native family food business is thriving at the Hoopa Trading Post, bringing Southeast Asian home cooking to folks there under a different approach to boosting the economy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Klamath Dam Turning Point and New Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Mar 6, 2021 at 10:49 AM

The agreement to remove the Klamath dams has never seemed so promising but it's taken generations of Native activists and organizers to get here. We're talking about the behind-the-scenes moves, protests and a showdown on the river with Berkshire Hathaway executives, and how they impacted the fight. Also, a trio of new food trucks are feeding locals' cravings for fried chicken, hot salsa, New Orleans fare and COVID-adapted bar service. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Humboldt's COVID Variant and Under the Table Food Businesses

Posted By on Sat, Feb 27, 2021 at 12:26 PM

Humboldt is back in the red risk tier — we'll talk about why and what it means, as well as how the county ended up with its own COVID variant. Also, home cooks and out-of-work professionals are cooking and selling meals from home to make ends meet. But unlike in other counties in California, it's not legal. Hit subscribe to get updates on local stories every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, January 30, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Broken Recycling System and a Crab Cioppino for the Ages

Posted By on Sat, Jan 30, 2021 at 11:22 AM

This week we're looking at California's recycling deposit system and how it became broken to the point local residents have to drive to Crescent City to redeem their deposits or just accept the deposits as a kind of tax, while local grocers face new fees. It's a mess. Speaking of which, get out your bibs because it's time for crab cioppino! NCJ Freelancer Rod Kausen shares his mother's recipe, which was a mainstay at Ferndale's Ivanhoe for years.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation