Food

Friday, November 27, 2020

NCJ Preview: Rules of the Purple Tier and Camping in Eureka, and Yurok Food Sovereignty

Posted By on Fri, Nov 27, 2020 at 1:45 PM

Linda Stansberry breaks down the Eureka City Council's vote on camping and its impact on Eureka's homeless population. We'll also review what is and isn't allowed in the state's purple "widespread" risk tier for COVID-19, where Humboldt County now finds itself. And we'll look at how the Yurok Agricultural Corp. is trying to help those on the Yurok Reservation — declared a food desert by the FDA — grow their own food. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 19, 2020

NCJ Preview: Into the Red Tier, a Dam Update and a Pass for Thanksgiving

Posted By on Thu, Nov 19, 2020 at 5:59 PM

How did Humboldt County end up in the red substantial risk tier for COVID? We'll explain how our numbers have been climbing and what's been contributing to the rise in COVID-19 cases. And the bad news is you need to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering. The good news is you get to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering! We're looking on the bright side and how you can follow your bliss, care for absent loved ones and help your community without engaging in risky celebrations. We've also got updates on the Klamath Dams and how Dell'Arte students are performing their thesis projects under shelter in place. For weekly updates on stories Humboldt is talking about, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, October 31, 2020

NCJ Preview: Helping Native Students and a Tale of Two Cheese Nerds

Posted By on Sat, Oct 31, 2020 at 1:39 PM

The ACLU dropped a study on Humboldt County schools and what they can do to improve the huge gaps in educational outcomes for Native students. We'll break down the main findings and recommendations. We're also talking about the North Coast's new cheese podcast "Cheese the Day, " and how a couple of "cheese nerds" might be what your podcast rotation needs. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, October 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Baking, Mountain Lion Mamas and Upscale Climate Refugees

Posted By on Thu, Oct 22, 2020 at 5:21 PM

This week we've got Nora Mounce (and her son Leroy) on to talk about the history and resurgence of spicy, boozy election cakes. We'll also get into how climate change, COVID and wildfires combine to impact the local real estate market, as people facing the prospect of rising temps, smoke and remote work look to move to towns like Trinidad. What does it mean for locals looking for a place to live? And if you saw the viral mountain lion mama video, you might want to hear what a local State Parks guide had to say about it and staying safe in mountain lion country. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on the stories people are talking about in Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, October 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Overcoming Childhood Trauma and the Limits of Stress Cooking

Posted By on Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 9:02 AM

This week's cover story is about how childhood stress and trauma connect to serious health issues in adulthood, like addiction and even cancer. But it's not hopeless, as a program addressing adverse childhood experiences here in Humboldt shows — even amid the added stresses of a pandemic. Speaking of which, we're also talking about the limits of cooking and comfort food to get us through. What do we do when the coping mechanisms we rely on lose their effectiveness? Mostly we keep cooking. Hit subscribe and join the weekly conversation about Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, September 3, 2020

NCJ Preview: Farewell Frankovich, New Reopening Guidelines and Humboldt To Go

Posted By on Thu, Sep 3, 2020 at 9:48 AM

This week starts with the news of Humboldt County Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich's resignation. Then we're breaking down what the new state guidelines mean for Humboldt County, and how local testing and cases can looses or tighten restrictions on businesses like gyms and restaurants during shelter in place. We're also looking into how a Facebook group about takeout, Humboldt To Go, blew up in terms of membership and controversy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, July 30, 2020

NCJ Preview: Grand Jury Reports, Powers Creek Produce and Flocking Up

Posted By on Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 12:33 PM

The Grand Jury reports are in — what does that mean? We're talking with Access Humboldt about how this team of volunteers acts as a kind of watchdog over everything in our county from criminal investigations to mental health care. And if you've ever thought about getting into the small-scale produce racket or raising your own chickens, we've got a pair of stories about how a Blue Lake stand cropped up to fill a need and how you can get hours of entertainment and the best eggs of your life by becoming a "flockster." Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation