Environment / Natural Resources

Saturday, December 31, 2022

NCJ Preview: 2022 in Review and Heroic Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Dec 31, 2022 at 10:49 AM

It's been a year ... we're looking at the Top 10 Stories of 2022 issue, from local politics to the environment to crime. There's even some good news in there! We'll be rolling our eyes at the roll call of Dick Moves this year, too. Finally, we're looking at how local food trucks sponsored by World Central Kitchen have been feeding those left without power and water in the Eel River Valley following the Dec. 20 quake. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 17, 2022

NCJ Preview: Internet, Wind and Children's Theater

Posted By on Sat, Dec 17, 2022 at 8:00 AM

This week we're sharing an Indian Country Today story on bringing the Hoopa Valley up to internet speed. We've also got updates on where wind power plans are right now and the road ahead. Dell'Arte's holiday show Nightlight gets a review and a new(ish) winter squash gets the holiday appetizer treatment. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories around Humboldt. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, November 5, 2022

NCJ Preview: Food Waste Recovery, Local Native Art

Posted By on Sat, Nov 5, 2022 at 8:00 AM

This week, we're looking at how Senate Bill 1383, built to help the environment by reducing harmful methane emissions through recycling and food waste diversion, could shake out in Humboldt. We'll talk about how diverting 20 percent of edible food otherwise bound for landfill can not only help the planet, but those in need locally. We're also taking a turn around the Goudi'ni Gallery for a snapshot of work by local Native artists, from established masters to new names. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, September 24, 2022

NCJ Preview: Burgers, Bareilles, Building Barriers and Bongio

Posted By on Sat, Sep 24, 2022 at 4:36 PM

NCJ Burger Week is upon us and we're scanning the menu to see what's flipping around the county. We'll get into the free concert Humboldt native Sara Bareilles is playing in Eureka and how her roots have influenced her life and career. Down in Fortuna and Rio Dell, plans for new housing and other construction have been thrown for a loop with PG&E's announcement that it won't be able to provide the needed power. We'll talk about the impact of that new hurdle and where we go from here. And finally, we'll look into the censuring of Planning Commission Chair Bongio. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stores from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, September 17, 2022

NCJ Preview: Nuclear Safety, Zoellner's Civil Case and Painted Wild Times

Posted By on Sat, Sep 17, 2022 at 1:34 PM

Is 44 feet far enough away from Humboldt Bay for spent nuclear fuel rods? We'll talk about the long-term plans and risks, as well as the 44 Feet group working toward a longer-term solution. We're also updating on the civil case Kyle Zoellner has brought against the city of Arcata and the twist in the malicious prosecution aspect. Finally, we can't look away from Jesse Weidel's gritty, grotesque and weirdly joyful paintings, and we'll let you know where you can see them now. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, September 3, 2022

NCJ Preview: Fire and Real Estate, and a Chili Contender

Posted By on Sat, Sep 3, 2022 at 8:00 AM

How will the already stretched Arcata Fire District manage with proposed expansion of Arcata's population and housing in light of the university's shift to a Cal Poly? We'll talk about what the costs and obstacles for keeping people safe. Speaking of Cal Poly Humboldt, we've got a story on the university's high-priced land purchase. We've also got a pair of perspectives on the Planning Commission's recent controversy, as well as an update on the Klamath dams. And finally, we've got the lowdown on how a relative chili novice single handedly nabbed a Reserve Grand Champion trophy at the Big Brothers Big Sisters of the North Coast chili cook-off with Guy Fieri at the fair. For weekly updates, hit subscribe. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, August 27, 2022

NCJ Preview: Planning Commission Blow-up, Fair Food Throw-down

Posted By on Sat, Aug 27, 2022 at 2:12 PM

This week we're looking into the conflict that began with a developer violating the terms of his land use permits and bubbled over at a Humboldt County Planning Commission meeting with accusations of lying, "offensive" comments and a damaged relationship between the commission and local Native tribes. Then we'll swing over to the Humboldt County Fair to sample some fair food, both local and far-flung. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , ,

Saturday, August 13, 2022

NCJ Preview: Murals, Fire, Fish and Gyros

Posted By on Sat, Aug 13, 2022 at 3:57 PM

This week we're craning our necks to look up at all the murals from the Eureka Street Art Festival. We'll talk about how the festival's artists ended up paining the pillars of the Samoa Bridge and how you can take a tour. And if you're looking for lunch, we're talking about the new Gyro Shop in Arcata.

On the news side, we're watching the Six Rivers Lightning Strike fires Complex fires, evacuations orders and how firefighters are battling the blazes close to Willow Creek. We'll also go into how a previous fire combined with flash flooding led to a "kill zone" for fish on the Klamath. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 30, 2022

NCJ Preview: Burning the Family Ranch, Roasting Vegetables, Bird Calls and Audits

Posted By on Sat, Jul 30, 2022 at 8:00 AM

This week we're talking about how controlled burning works on private ranch land as wildfire prevention, with staff writer Linda Stansberry sharing her own family's experience. Also, with summer vegetables taking over the local farmers markets, we've got Simona Carini's roasted vegetable recipe, which may have you rethinking your standard sides. And a little bird told us the birds are singing even when we can't see them. We'll talk about some apps for figuring out who's warbling nearby. Finally, we'll break down some of the factors the state controller's office has identified as contributing to Humboldt's overdue financial reports. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Saturday, July 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: An Organic Waste Overhaul and New Food and Brew Offerings in Arcata

Posted By on Sat, Jul 23, 2022 at 7:00 AM

Humboldt County's trash collection system is about to get a lot more complicated, with a new state law taking effect aimed at reducing climate pollutants and creating a closed-loop organic waste economy. Meanwhile, a new brewery and deli in Arcata is offering up sandwiches and small-batch brews and recently released documents shed new light on a chaotic 2016 police shooting in Eureka. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Top Commenters

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2023 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation