Environment / Natural Resources

Saturday, January 15, 2022

NCJ Preview: Spectator Ban, Outgoing Health Officer, Cookie Perfectionism and More

Posted By on Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 2:06 PM

There'll be no spectators at Humboldt County school sporting events, at least for the next couple of weeks. We'll go into how the Humboldt Del Norte League came to that decision in the face of quickly rising COVID-19 case numbers and the ensuing backlash. We'll also get into where our county is in terms of Omicron spread, hospital staffing and the announcement that Public Health Officer Ian Hoffman will be leaving his post. If you're staying home these days, this issue has a few suggestions for spending your time, including perfecting your dream chocolate chip cookie, listening to a podcast crime drama set in Humboldt and learning about elephant seals. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Behind the Top 10s of 2021

Posted By on Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 8:00 AM

As the year comes to an end, we're talking about the Top 10 stories fo 2021 from this week's cover — COVID, Su-Meg, local government and more — and how we came up with our list. That includes how we determined the Top 10 Dick Moves and why we dig into the pettiness. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, November 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Gift Guide, Karuk Land Return, Mushrooms and Crab

Posted By on Sat, Nov 27, 2021 at 2:49 PM

This week we're peeking into the pages of the annual Gift Guide and the story behind its cover art. We're also looking at proposed legislation to return 1,200 acres of land to the Karuk Tribe and why it's culturally and historically significant. If you're a mushroom fan or mushroom hunter, you'll want to get in on this week's recipe for restorative matsutake and chicken soup. Finally, we don't want to jinx anything, but the recreational crab haul is looking good and making us hungry for the commercial season opening. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, November 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: 101 Underwater, Watching Cops and Raising Turkeys

Posted By on Sat, Nov 13, 2021 at 8:30 AM

The looming threat of sea level rise is particularly scary along U.S. Highway 101. CalTrans and others are searching for solutions to the flooded future of Humboldt's main transportation artery, and this week we're talking about the options and obstacles for keeping the roadway above water. We're also looking at Eureka's move toward more robust police oversight, with an independent board and auditor. We'll look at how much power that body will wield in practical terms. And finally, how was your Thanksgiving turkey raised? Arcata's Tule Fog Farm is pasture raising turkeys — a slow but rewarding method — but this may be the last year to get one of its birds. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, September 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: Enterprise, Burgers, Place Names and Etiquette

Posted By on Sat, Sep 25, 2021 at 5:18 PM

This week we're looking at the future of the Ferndale Enterprise, newly purchased by North Coast Journal Inc. And it's Burger Week, so we're sharing what's whetting our appetites and whether you can eat 28 burgers in 10 days. Good luck, friends. We'll take a look at the effort to rename Patrick's Point, its fraught history and its recreated Sumeg Village. Finally, we're talking about a little COVID safety and etiquette satire, and why you shouldn't lean on that reply-all button. Do, however, hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around our county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, July 10, 2021

NCJ Preview: Land Trust Goals and Soul Food on Wheels

Posted By on Sat, Jul 10, 2021 at 8:00 AM

Can a land trust fix what ails Humboldt? The Wiyot Tribe and Cooperation Humboldt are going to find out. We're looking Wiyot-led Dishgamu Humboldt and its plans to address housing, job training and returning land to Indigenous ownership. We're also talking about the Razz-Ma-Tazz soul food truck bringing African American home cooking traditions to Eureka. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 3, 2021

NCJ Preview: Parks Gone Wild, a Eugenicist Kicks Rocks and Safe and Sane Fireworks

Posted By on Sat, Jul 3, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we're looking at Mark Larson's photos and tips for enjoying Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park, as well as how the parks removed the plaque honoring Nazi collaborator Madison Grant. And as we get ready for July Fourth weekend, we're talking about how illegal fireworks (aside from being, you know, illegal) can harm your neighborhood's people and pets, and why you should stick to those marked "safe and sane." Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, May 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Drought, Humboldt's High COVID Numbers and Monster Advice

Posted By on Thu, May 27, 2021 at 5:57 PM

This week we're looking at how historic drought conditions are hitting the state and our county, and what it means for fires, salmon and daily life for residents amid what may be our new climate normal. And how did Humboldt wind up with the state's worst COVID-19 numbers? And how can we turn it around? We've got a story on where all the bicycles have gone during the pandemic, as well as a little humor, imagining how the CDC might handle vampires and zombies. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Toll of Empty Stages, Code Enforcement Piling Up and a COVID Update

Posted By on Sun, Apr 25, 2021 at 11:01 AM

In this week's NCJ Preview, host David Frank and Journal news editor Thadeus Greenson talk about the toll COVID-19 has taken on local musicians, why county code enforcement cases are piling up at an alarming rate and how local COVID-19 case rates are climbing as vaccination appointments go unfilled. Read more about all these stories in this week's Journal, and hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Klamath Dam Turning Point and New Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Mar 6, 2021 at 10:49 AM

The agreement to remove the Klamath dams has never seemed so promising but it's taken generations of Native activists and organizers to get here. We're talking about the behind-the-scenes moves, protests and a showdown on the river with Berkshire Hathaway executives, and how they impacted the fight. Also, a trio of new food trucks are feeding locals' cravings for fried chicken, hot salsa, New Orleans fare and COVID-adapted bar service. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Top Commenters

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation