Environment / Natural Resources

Thursday, November 19, 2020

NCJ Preview: Into the Red Tier, a Dam Update and a Pass for Thanksgiving

Posted By on Thu, Nov 19, 2020 at 5:59 PM

How did Humboldt County end up in the red substantial risk tier for COVID? We'll explain how our numbers have been climbing and what's been contributing to the rise in COVID-19 cases. And the bad news is you need to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering. The good news is you get to skip your usual Thanksgiving travel and gathering! We're looking on the bright side and how you can follow your bliss, care for absent loved ones and help your community without engaging in risky celebrations. We've also got updates on the Klamath Dams and how Dell'Arte students are performing their thesis projects under shelter in place. For weekly updates on stories Humboldt is talking about, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, October 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Baking, Mountain Lion Mamas and Upscale Climate Refugees

Posted By on Thu, Oct 22, 2020 at 5:21 PM

This week we've got Nora Mounce (and her son Leroy) on to talk about the history and resurgence of spicy, boozy election cakes. We'll also get into how climate change, COVID and wildfires combine to impact the local real estate market, as people facing the prospect of rising temps, smoke and remote work look to move to towns like Trinidad. What does it mean for locals looking for a place to live? And if you saw the viral mountain lion mama video, you might want to hear what a local State Parks guide had to say about it and staying safe in mountain lion country. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on the stories people are talking about in Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 18, 2020

NCJ Preview: Smoke, Fire and Risking Live Shows in a Pandemic

Posted By on Fri, Sep 18, 2020 at 1:04 PM

Fire everywhere and smoke all over Humboldt. We'll break down what's happening with the closes wildfires and why even places some distance away were blanketed with smoke and orange haze last week. Plus what the future of the North Coast looks like in terms of climate and fire. We're also talking about venues that are going ahead with live shows despite public health orders and those holding back. What are the risks of deciding the show must go on? Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, February 13, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:30 AM

This week: We've got answers from candidates in the Humboldt County Supervisors races for the First and Second districts covering the economy, climate crisis, homelessness and infrastructure and road maintenance. We also asked them some personal and creative questions, so we'll talk about why. Then we've got advice on where to eat clam chowder and shrimp po' boys, and the high risk behavior of snacking on raw cookie dough. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, January 19, 2020

North Coast Journal Preview: Video

Posted By on Sun, Jan 19, 2020 at 6:47 PM

If you've tuned in to Access Humboldt's channel 12 lately, you may have seen (or heard, if you listen to its radio station KZZH 96.7 FM at noon and 5 p.m.) the North Coast Journal Preview. In the weekly segment, members of the Journal's editorial staff sit down with host David Frank for a few minutes to talk about the stories we just went to press with. You can also subscribe to the NCJ YouTube channel — click the little red button! — for weekly episodes. 


If aren't already familiar with Access Humboldt, let's catch you up. The nonprofit media organization is hunkered down on the Eureka High School campus, where it offers members video and audio equipment training for working in the field or in its fully equipped studio. (That podcast you've been daydreaming about? AH can help with that.) Access Humboldt runs four TV channels on Suddenlink: edc8 (covering local education institutes); civic10 (covering local government and public meetings); AH-11 and AH-12 (airing video submissions from local residents and organizations).

Miss your favorite KHSU programs? KZZH, which you can also stream online, has picked up a few others besides the North Coast Journal Preview, including: Food For Thought, Radio Centro, Radio Bilingue Weekly Newscast, Live Your Language, Community Calendar, Sound Ecology, EcoNews Report, Cosmic Calendar, Here’s A Story, Looking Back, Redwood Wonk (formerly Thursday Night Talk), Cool Solutions and Democracy Now. Learn more about the organization and its work bringing news and information to our community here
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation