Education

Saturday, October 31, 2020

NCJ Preview: Helping Native Students and a Tale of Two Cheese Nerds

Posted By on Sat, Oct 31, 2020 at 1:39 PM

The ACLU dropped a study on Humboldt County schools and what they can do to improve the huge gaps in educational outcomes for Native students. We'll break down the main findings and recommendations. We're also talking about the North Coast's new cheese podcast "Cheese the Day, " and how a couple of "cheese nerds" might be what your podcast rotation needs. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, October 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Overcoming Childhood Trauma and the Limits of Stress Cooking

Posted By on Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 9:02 AM

This week's cover story is about how childhood stress and trauma connect to serious health issues in adulthood, like addiction and even cancer. But it's not hopeless, as a program addressing adverse childhood experiences here in Humboldt shows — even amid the added stresses of a pandemic. Speaking of which, we're also talking about the limits of cooking and comfort food to get us through. What do we do when the coping mechanisms we rely on lose their effectiveness? Mostly we keep cooking. Hit subscribe and join the weekly conversation about Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 16, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt: A Little Good News

Posted By on Thu, Apr 16, 2020 at 11:48 AM

This week: Some much-needed good news. We're looking at how local nonprofits Cooperation Humboldt and Food for People, as well as a tiny school district, are turning their talents and volunteers to help those in need amid COVID-19 and sheltering in place. We're also talking about the meditative benefits of making pasta by hand. Hit subscribe for weekly updates from our YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Sunday, January 19, 2020

North Coast Journal Preview: Video

Posted By on Sun, Jan 19, 2020 at 6:47 PM

If you've tuned in to Access Humboldt's channel 12 lately, you may have seen (or heard, if you listen to its radio station KZZH 96.7 FM at noon and 5 p.m.) the North Coast Journal Preview. In the weekly segment, members of the Journal's editorial staff sit down with host David Frank for a few minutes to talk about the stories we just went to press with. You can also subscribe to the NCJ YouTube channel — click the little red button! — for weekly episodes. 


If aren't already familiar with Access Humboldt, let's catch you up. The nonprofit media organization is hunkered down on the Eureka High School campus, where it offers members video and audio equipment training for working in the field or in its fully equipped studio. (That podcast you've been daydreaming about? AH can help with that.) Access Humboldt runs four TV channels on Suddenlink: edc8 (covering local education institutes); civic10 (covering local government and public meetings); AH-11 and AH-12 (airing video submissions from local residents and organizations).

Miss your favorite KHSU programs? KZZH, which you can also stream online, has picked up a few others besides the North Coast Journal Preview, including: Food For Thought, Radio Centro, Radio Bilingue Weekly Newscast, Live Your Language, Community Calendar, Sound Ecology, EcoNews Report, Cosmic Calendar, Here’s A Story, Looking Back, Redwood Wonk (formerly Thursday Night Talk), Cool Solutions and Democracy Now. Learn more about the organization and its work bringing news and information to our community here
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation