Education

Saturday, May 14, 2022

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Brett Watson and Genius Rice

Posted By on Sat, May 14, 2022 at 7:00 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is here with a rundown of classes, camps and workshops to entertain the kids when school is out. Everything from surfing to stage fighting to science camps are in there and we're going over the highlights. We'll also look at what we know about the sexual harassment allegations against Arcata Councilmember Brett Watson based on an outside firm's investigation and some 400 pages of text messages between him and a subordinate employee. And finally, we're happy to share a Chinese recipe for rice that may become your new favorite main dish. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 5, 2022

NCJ Preview: Cal Poly Humboldt Plans, Feeding Lao and Hmong Families

Posted By on Sat, Feb 5, 2022 at 8:30 AM

What does the shift to Cal Poly Humboldt mean beyond a run on HSU hoodies? We'll break down the infrastructure, curriculum and housing impacts on the university, the city of Arcata and Humboldt at large. We've also got a story on how Hmong and Lao community members are working with Redwood Coast Regional Center and Food for People to get needed staples and product to families in need. Hit subscribe for weekly update on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: Watson Texts, Measure S and New Year Cookies

Posted By on Sat, Jan 29, 2022 at 8:25 AM

This week, we're looking at the still undisclosed allegations against Arcata Mayor Brett Watson from the perspective of texts between city councilmembers and what it tells us about the frustrations and confusion behind the scenes. We're also breaking down why local cannabis farmers are struggling in the legal market and asking the county for a break on fast approaching tax bills. This after the supervisors' decision to give across the board raises to county employees, deepening an approaching budget hole. And as Lunar New Year approaches, we have Wendy Chan's revival of golden almond cookies. (Spoiler: The secret is lard.) Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt County every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 15, 2022

NCJ Preview: Spectator Ban, Outgoing Health Officer, Cookie Perfectionism and More

Posted By on Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 2:06 PM

There'll be no spectators at Humboldt County school sporting events, at least for the next couple of weeks. We'll go into how the Humboldt Del Norte League came to that decision in the face of quickly rising COVID-19 case numbers and the ensuing backlash. We'll also get into where our county is in terms of Omicron spread, hospital staffing and the announcement that Public Health Officer Ian Hoffman will be leaving his post. If you're staying home these days, this issue has a few suggestions for spending your time, including perfecting your dream chocolate chip cookie, listening to a podcast crime drama set in Humboldt and learning about elephant seals. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, August 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Beacon of Hope and a Community's Center

Posted By on Sun, Aug 22, 2021 at 10:35 AM

As Humboldt State University prepares to start a new semester, we look at its Project Rebound, which supports formerly incarcerated students on campus, as well as the inspiring stories of its founder and students. And we discuss the big things happening at the Jefferson Community Center in Eureka, which the Westside Community Improvement Association has transformed from a dilapidated former school into a vibrant hub of activity. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, February 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: HSU's Polytechnic Hopes and a Skate Ramp Grows in Petrolia

Posted By on Sat, Feb 13, 2021 at 10:00 AM

Is Humboldt State University ready to become a STEM-heavy polytechnic? We're discussing the financial boon and the housing burden if it happens. And if you've ever wondered how that half pipe out in the middle of Petrolia got there, we've got the tale of how the community pulled together to build it and keep it going for 21 years. Finally, if you've hit the "pandemic wall," maybe a little humor and meditation will help keep you going. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Eureka's Needle Exchange Battle and Supporting BIPOC Youth

Posted By on Sat, Feb 6, 2021 at 12:02 PM

This week we're looking into how and why the city of Eureka continues to butt heads with Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction over needle exchange. Also, we're talking about a new local nonprofit nurturing and supporting BIPOC youth, HC Black Music and Arts Association. Its organizers are putting on Harambee Liberation Month, a series of Zoom workshops, classes and presentations, as well as a memorial march for kids and families, all February. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, October 31, 2020

NCJ Preview: Helping Native Students and a Tale of Two Cheese Nerds

Posted By on Sat, Oct 31, 2020 at 1:39 PM

The ACLU dropped a study on Humboldt County schools and what they can do to improve the huge gaps in educational outcomes for Native students. We'll break down the main findings and recommendations. We're also talking about the North Coast's new cheese podcast "Cheese the Day, " and how a couple of "cheese nerds" might be what your podcast rotation needs. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, October 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Overcoming Childhood Trauma and the Limits of Stress Cooking

Posted By on Fri, Oct 2, 2020 at 9:02 AM

This week's cover story is about how childhood stress and trauma connect to serious health issues in adulthood, like addiction and even cancer. But it's not hopeless, as a program addressing adverse childhood experiences here in Humboldt shows — even amid the added stresses of a pandemic. Speaking of which, we're also talking about the limits of cooking and comfort food to get us through. What do we do when the coping mechanisms we rely on lose their effectiveness? Mostly we keep cooking. Hit subscribe and join the weekly conversation about Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 16, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt: A Little Good News

Posted By on Thu, Apr 16, 2020 at 11:48 AM

This week: Some much-needed good news. We're looking at how local nonprofits Cooperation Humboldt and Food for People, as well as a tiny school district, are turning their talents and volunteers to help those in need amid COVID-19 and sheltering in place. We're also talking about the meditative benefits of making pasta by hand. Hit subscribe for weekly updates from our YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Recent Comments

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation