Editorial

Sunday, May 5, 2024

CPH Protests and Doing Good on Cinco de Mayo

Posted By on Sun, May 5, 2024 at 12:28 PM

We're taking a look at how the protests and the clearing of Siemens Hall at Cal Poly Humboldt unfolded, as well as the administration's choices and responses. We've also got a story about how local Mexican restaurants are raising funds on Cinco de Mayo for a nonprofit offering free ESL classes. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, December 29, 2023

Looking Back on 2023 and Ahead to Celebrations

Posted By on Fri, Dec 29, 2023 at 8:27 AM

As 2023 winds down, we're looking back on the Top 10 most impactful stories of the year. We've also got the Top 10 Dick Moves that irked us in Humboldt, and suggestions for celebrating the New Year this weekend. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Friday, September 22, 2023

Burgers, Backpacks, Media and Weekend Recs

Posted By on Fri, Sep 22, 2023 at 6:16 PM

Grab some napkins — it's NCJ Burger Week! And speaking of food, local nonprofit Food for People is calling for your help feeding kids in need. We're also looking at why a local arrest blew up on right-wing media outlets. Finally, pick up some tips on local art and music shows this week, and what to work on in the garden. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Friday, June 16, 2023

Ferndale's Pride Fight

Posted By on Fri, Jun 16, 2023 at 5:26 PM

It's Pride month and we're looking at the upcoming parade and events in Ferndale. The protest march and gathering has grown along with vocal homophobic voices in and outside the community, some of which were especially loud as the Ferndale City Council weighed an anti-hate and inclusion resolution. We've also got a related satirical piece and a fond farewell to our host David Frank. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, December 10, 2022

NCJ Preview: Fires, Boarding School Legacy, Cartoon Controversy and More

Posted By on Sat, Dec 10, 2022 at 3:17 PM

This week we're recapping the cover story on the year in wildfires and a story about Harvard University holding hair samples from Native children who attended boarding schools. We're talking about reader responses and our editorial decision making over a cartoon some felt was anti-Semitic. We've also got a birding hot spot in an unlikely place and a humorous plea from a burnt-out Elf on a Shelf. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, January 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Behind the Top 10s of 2021

Posted By on Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 8:00 AM

As the year comes to an end, we're talking about the Top 10 stories fo 2021 from this week's cover — COVID, Su-Meg, local government and more — and how we came up with our list. That includes how we determined the Top 10 Dick Moves and why we dig into the pettiness. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, September 18, 2021

NCJ Preview: Otters, Police Transparency and Blackberry Mania

Posted By on Sat, Sep 18, 2021 at 8:18 AM

This week we're talking about the North Coast Otter Art Initiative and the beautiful painted sculptures created by local artists to raise money for otter research. We defy you to scroll through the offerings without smiling. We're also looking at the importance of de-escalation how a new law makes it possible to gain access to footage of police shootings and use-of-force incidents. Finally, we're celebrating the end of summer with hardcore berry picking and homemade pie. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from all over Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 17, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccine Decisions and Conversations

Posted By on Sat, Jul 17, 2021 at 8:47 AM

The Vaccination Issue is on stands and we're sharing stories from our readers about why the got vaccinated and what the experience was like for them, physically and otherwise. We're also sharing some personal stories about talking to our friends and family about their vaccine hesitancy — how a conversation with a single person can set off a chain of people getting vaccinated, as well as when changing someone's mind isn't possible. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County's communities.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, June 5, 2021

NCJ Preview

Posted By on Sat, Jun 5, 2021 at 8:00 AM

With a new batch of ugly messages between members of a Eureka police unit revealing a culture of misogyny and cruel and violent attitudes toward homeless and mentally ill people, the department faces a reckoning. We'll go over how the police officers' extensive workplace protections affect the impact and secrecy of that reckoning. And Eureka and Arcata have a couple of new food trucks, one at the county's first cannabis consumption lounge, and the other at a winery. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, May 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19's Local Casualties, the Privilege of Vaccine Access and the Future of a Farm Stand

Posted By on Sat, May 22, 2021 at 9:00 AM

On the anniversary of Humboldt's first COVID-19 death, we're looking back on the people we lost with glimpses of their lives gleaned from obituaries and interviews with family members. We're also talking about the vaccines we now have access to — a live-saving option those lost didn't have — and what it could mean if we don't take advantage and get Humboldt vaccinated. Lastly, we're looking at the future of Kneeland Glen Farm Stand, the owner of which is facing eviction by the Northcoast Regional Land Trust, which owns the property as part of the Freshwater Farms Reserve. Hit subscribe for updates on Humboldt County stories every week. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2024 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation