Editorial

Saturday, September 18, 2021

NCJ Preview: Otters, Police Transparency and Blackberry Mania

Posted By on Sat, Sep 18, 2021 at 8:18 AM

This week we're talking about the North Coast Otter Art Initiative and the beautiful painted sculptures created by local artists to raise money for otter research. We defy you to scroll through the offerings without smiling. We're also looking at the importance of de-escalation how a new law makes it possible to gain access to footage of police shootings and use-of-force incidents. Finally, we're celebrating the end of summer with hardcore berry picking and homemade pie. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from all over Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 17, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccine Decisions and Conversations

Posted By on Sat, Jul 17, 2021 at 8:47 AM

The Vaccination Issue is on stands and we're sharing stories from our readers about why the got vaccinated and what the experience was like for them, physically and otherwise. We're also sharing some personal stories about talking to our friends and family about their vaccine hesitancy — how a conversation with a single person can set off a chain of people getting vaccinated, as well as when changing someone's mind isn't possible. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County's communities.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, June 5, 2021

NCJ Preview

Posted By on Sat, Jun 5, 2021 at 8:00 AM

With a new batch of ugly messages between members of a Eureka police unit revealing a culture of misogyny and cruel and violent attitudes toward homeless and mentally ill people, the department faces a reckoning. We'll go over how the police officers' extensive workplace protections affect the impact and secrecy of that reckoning. And Eureka and Arcata have a couple of new food trucks, one at the county's first cannabis consumption lounge, and the other at a winery. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, May 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19's Local Casualties, the Privilege of Vaccine Access and the Future of a Farm Stand

Posted By on Sat, May 22, 2021 at 9:00 AM

On the anniversary of Humboldt's first COVID-19 death, we're looking back on the people we lost with glimpses of their lives gleaned from obituaries and interviews with family members. We're also talking about the vaccines we now have access to — a live-saving option those lost didn't have — and what it could mean if we don't take advantage and get Humboldt vaccinated. Lastly, we're looking at the future of Kneeland Glen Farm Stand, the owner of which is facing eviction by the Northcoast Regional Land Trust, which owns the property as part of the Freshwater Farms Reserve. Hit subscribe for updates on Humboldt County stories every week. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 1, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccinations and Spicy Noodles

Posted By on Sat, May 1, 2021 at 8:30 AM

What's with these empty vaccination appointments? With cases spiking once again, public health officials are trying new strategies to get shots in arms. We're also sharing a recipe for heating things up with cold sesame-peanut noodles. Hit subscribe to get weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, March 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Anti-Asian Racism, Government Transparency and Those EPD Texts

Posted By on Sat, Mar 27, 2021 at 9:00 AM

This week we're talking about how the recent shootings in Atlanta and their aftermath fit a historic pattern of anti-Asian racism and how the national trend ripples to Humboldt. We've also got the Foilies, the annual roundup of outrageous incidents of redaction and refusal of public records. And we're following up on the Eureka Police Department scandal relating to violent and misogynistic leaked text messages. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Thursday, November 12, 2020

NCJ Preview: Post-election Perspectives and Pandemic Wine Tasting

Posted By on Thu, Nov 12, 2020 at 5:04 PM

This week we're looking at how many ballots are left to count in our county and where local elections stand. We'll also talk about the local community leaders who contributed letters to this week's paper about the presidential election results and what President-elect Biden's win means and doesn't mean to them and us. And how does a wine tasting club keep its 20-year tradition going in the middle of a pandemic? With Zoom meetings and Mason jars of vino. Hear what some local wine enthusiasts are up to and maybe start your own socially distant club. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, April 2, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Apr 2, 2020 at 6:30 PM

This week we're sharing updates about Humboldt's COVID-19 cases and community transmission, and looking back at how the county managed during the 1918-1919 flu epidemic. And why wearing a DIY mask is a way to put your community first. Click subscribe for weekly YouTube video updates.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation