Crime

Monday, July 18, 2022

NCJ Preview: A Final Fish Farm EIR, Hate in Humboldt and Thai Food in Willow Creek

Posted By on Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 11:25 AM

This week, we're talking about a new report that attempts to quantify the environmental impacts of what would be the world's largest on-shore fish farm in Samoa. Meanwhile, a rash of incidents involving hate and bigotry marred Humboldt County's July Fourth holiday. And finally, Lily's Thai brings a new dining option near Willow Creek. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, June 19, 2022

NCJ Preview: Opium History, a Softball Swan Song, Birding Dads and Popping Up

Posted By on Sun, Jun 19, 2022 at 11:02 AM

This week's cover looks back at Humboldt's history, specifically how opium addiction gripped so many in the 1880s and how it parallels our current opiate crisis. We've also got the story of Hailey Dolcini, a Ferndale-raised softball player whose grit and pitching arm led her to a historic performance in the Women's College World Series. Father's Day weekend has birder Sarah Hobart's thoughts turning to her birding mentor dad and we'll talk about how he instilled curiosity and appreciation for nature in his kids. Lastly, we'll give you a taste of what chef Rochelle Burgess cooked up at her first pop-up event. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 7, 2022

NCJ Preview: The Search for Emmi and the Relief of Rage Runs

Posted By on Sat, May 7, 2022 at 10:50 AM

May 5 was a day of awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and 2 Spirit People. For contributor Cutcha Risling Baldy, it's personal, as her cousin Emmilee Risling is among the missing. This week we have Risling Baldy's personal account and how a nonprofit brought resources for a massive search that isn't over yet. We're also talking about running to deal with pandemic-level stress. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, April 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: Redacted Reports and Piping Hot Pupusas

Posted By on Sat, Apr 23, 2022 at 8:00 AM

The Journal finally got the requested report on the investigation into deeply misogynistic, violent and dehumanizing messages sent between Eureka Police Department officers centering on Rodrigo Reyna-Sanchez and Mark Meftah. But its heavily redacted text reveals more about obstacles to transparency than it does about the texting scandal. We'll talk about what all those blank spaces tell us. On a more palatable note, we're also marveling at Pupuseria San Miguel opening in Arcata and the Salvadoran woman who's finally turning the cooking she did to make ends meet into her own business with the help of her son. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , ,

Saturday, January 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Behind the Top 10s of 2021

Posted By on Sat, Jan 1, 2022 at 8:00 AM

As the year comes to an end, we're talking about the Top 10 stories fo 2021 from this week's cover — COVID, Su-Meg, local government and more — and how we came up with our list. That includes how we determined the Top 10 Dick Moves and why we dig into the pettiness. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, October 16, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccines and County Staff, Police Shooting Footage and Restoring the Eureka Theater

Posted By on Sat, Oct 16, 2021 at 2:08 PM

This week we're looking at why the board of supervisors declined to require vaccines for county employees, going for weekly testing for the unvaccinated instead. We're also going into what's on newly released footage from last month's police shooting of a suspect on Mad River Road, as well as how law affects what's made public and how. Meanwhile, in Eureka, an architectural jewel is getting some shine as the Streamline Moderne Eureka Theater is restored, including the secret apartment upstairs. Finally, we've got a little taste of the Feast of our Lady of Fatima at Ferndale's Portuguese Hall. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, October 9, 2021

NCJ Daily: Law Enforcement Staffing, the Symphony's Return and Candy Corn Hate

Posted By on Sat, Oct 9, 2021 at 8:30 AM

This week, we're talking about the trouble local law enforcement agencies are having filling their ranks and keeping cops on board. We'll sort through the myriad reasons and theories for the hiring challenges. Also, it's been a long time since Setlist columnist Collin Yeo hit a live performance. His story this week both reviews the Eureka Symphony's 30th opening weekend at the Arkley Center for the Performing Arts and shares what it's like attending an in-person show again, this time with vaccination cards and masks. Finally, we're indulging our sweet tooth and reveling in the cloying joy of candy corn, the seasonal treat folks love to hate. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, August 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Beacon of Hope and a Community's Center

Posted By on Sun, Aug 22, 2021 at 10:35 AM

As Humboldt State University prepares to start a new semester, we look at its Project Rebound, which supports formerly incarcerated students on campus, as well as the inspiring stories of its founder and students. And we discuss the big things happening at the Jefferson Community Center in Eureka, which the Westside Community Improvement Association has transformed from a dilapidated former school into a vibrant hub of activity. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, February 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Eureka's Needle Exchange Battle and Supporting BIPOC Youth

Posted By on Sat, Feb 6, 2021 at 12:02 PM

This week we're looking into how and why the city of Eureka continues to butt heads with Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction over needle exchange. Also, we're talking about a new local nonprofit nurturing and supporting BIPOC youth, HC Black Music and Arts Association. Its organizers are putting on Harambee Liberation Month, a series of Zoom workshops, classes and presentations, as well as a memorial march for kids and families, all February. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation