Crime

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 23, 2020

NCJ Preview: Early Prison Releases, Socially Distant Hikes and Lao Dishes on the Menu

Posted By on Thu, Jul 23, 2020 at 5:41 PM

This week we're taking a tour around the county with photographer Mark Larson, who's turned socially distant hiking into a mission. We're also looking at how Public Health and parole staff are handling the logistics and health concerns regarding early release for state prisoners. And if you've been waiting for Lao food to show up in a local restaurant, now is your moment — we'll share how chef Ronnie Worasen is bringing back khao poon and other specialties. Hit subscribe and get weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 6, 2020

NCJ Preview: Local Protests and Our New Dining Normal

Posted By on Sat, Jun 6, 2020 at 3:08 PM

This week we're talking about the Black Lives Matter/George Floyd protests against police brutality in Eureka. And as restaurants open for dine-in service, what's the new normal and can they survive? Hit subscribe for weekly updates from the NCJ YouTube channel and rundowns of local stories in Humboldt County.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation