Crime

Friday, January 26, 2024

Butterflies, Real Estate Mysteries and Pop-up Dining

Posted By on Fri, Jan 26, 2024 at 8:00 AM

This week we've got a story about how conservationists are working to bring an endangered butterfly back from the brink of extinction. Also, the Eureka City Schools' property sale mystery continues. We've got a brief on the hostage situation and police shooting in Eureka. Finally, we'll look at how pop-up nights at Alchemy Distillery are a win-win for the host and the chefs. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 15, 2023

Wildlife Emergency, Guns and Funky Wine

Posted By on Fri, Sep 15, 2023 at 2:51 PM

The nonprofit Humboldt Wildlife Care Center is in a financial emergency of its own. We've got the story on how the dedicated folks there help keep animals wild and how you can help. We're also looking at the spate of teen gun possession incidents in Fortuna and bidding farewell to a former newsroom colleague. Finally, we're learning about what makes a wine "natural" and who's making it in Humboldt. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , ,

Saturday, May 27, 2023

NCJ Preview: Crisis Guides, Awards, a Dubious Deputy and More

Posted By on Sat, May 27, 2023 at 8:00 AM

This week our cover story looks at Field Guide to a Crisis, a local collaborative art project that helps those who've struggled with addiction share the coping skills they've learned with others. We're also celebrating some recent journalism awards. We've got an update on the Soeth story, with the DA's office looking into what cases might be affected by the shaky credibility of a sheriff's deputy. Finally, get the skinny on the Empty Bowls fundraiser for St. Vincent de Paul Dining Facility, the risk of avian flu for local condors, and the new bear cubs at the zoo. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 13, 2023

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Miss Indian World and Cliff Jumpers

Posted By on Sat, May 13, 2023 at 8:46 AM

The Summer of Fun rundown of camps and activities for kids has arrived. We'll highlight some standout options from baseball to crafting. We've also got an update on drink spiking reports in Arcata, an interview with Miss Indian World, Eureka's own Tori McConnell, and a story on the wild and risky world of cliff jumping. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, May 5, 2023

NCJ Preview: The Soeth Story and New Flatmo Paintings

Posted By on Fri, May 5, 2023 at 1:30 PM

This week, we've got a story years in the making, tracing how a Humboldt County Sheriff's deputy is back on patrol after settling a wrongful death suit, opening fire on a security guard and commanding a police dog to bite an already restrained subject. We're also checking out local kinetic sculpture and mural legend Duane Flatmo's new show of paintings. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, April 27, 2023

NCJ Preview: CPH's Fire Fight, Police Shooting, Spiked Drinks and Oyster Fest Beer

Posted By on Thu, Apr 27, 2023 at 12:45 PM

This week's cover story dives into the tug of war over wildfire training degrees and whether Cal Poly Humboldt has the right to call dibs on them. We're updating on the police shooting in Eureka stemming from an alleged armed robbery and assault, and a high-speed chase, as well. We've got what you need to know about recent reports of drink spiking at bars and how to stay safe. Finally, the beer on tap at Oyster Fest has been announced and it's an interesting brew. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 28, 2023

NCJ Preview: Embezzlement, a Singing Chef and Spearfishing

Posted By on Sat, Jan 28, 2023 at 8:23 AM

This week we're looking at the alleged embezzlement at the Humboldt County Fair Association. We're also talking about the singing coming from the kitchen at Opera Alley Bistro, where the chef croons while he cooks. Finally, we've got tips for those who want to spearfish in Humboldt. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, December 31, 2022

NCJ Preview: 2022 in Review and Heroic Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Dec 31, 2022 at 10:49 AM

It's been a year ... we're looking at the Top 10 Stories of 2022 issue, from local politics to the environment to crime. There's even some good news in there! We'll be rolling our eyes at the roll call of Dick Moves this year, too. Finally, we're looking at how local food trucks sponsored by World Central Kitchen have been feeding those left without power and water in the Eel River Valley following the Dec. 20 quake. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, October 15, 2022

NCJ Preview: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Persons and a Young Entrepreneur

Posted By on Sat, Oct 15, 2022 at 11:18 AM

This week, we're looking at the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Persons epidemic and the Yurok Tribe's symposium bringing Native representatives from all over the state and local politicians to work on systemic issues and solutions. We've also got a story on a 15-year-old running his own food truck selling baked goods. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Saturday, October 1, 2022

NCJ Preview: Women in Policing, Fall Food and More

Posted By on Sat, Oct 1, 2022 at 2:20 PM

This week we've got a profile of Cpl. Crystal Landry of the Rio Dell Police Department and the recruitment effort to get more women in local policing. And since it's officially fall, we've got seasonal garden clean-up advice and a dumpling recipe for young green pumpkins. Finally, we've got a little satire about reproductive freedom and baby showers.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Top Commenters

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2024 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation