Crime

Saturday, October 16, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccines and County Staff, Police Shooting Footage and Restoring the Eureka Theater

Posted By on Sat, Oct 16, 2021 at 2:08 PM

This week we're looking at why the board of supervisors declined to require vaccines for county employees, going for weekly testing for the unvaccinated instead. We're also going into what's on newly released footage from last month's police shooting of a suspect on Mad River Road, as well as how law affects what's made public and how. Meanwhile, in Eureka, an architectural jewel is getting some shine as the Streamline Moderne Eureka Theater is restored, including the secret apartment upstairs. Finally, we've got a little taste of the Feast of our Lady of Fatima at Ferndale's Portuguese Hall. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, October 9, 2021

NCJ Daily: Law Enforcement Staffing, the Symphony's Return and Candy Corn Hate

Posted By on Sat, Oct 9, 2021 at 8:30 AM

This week, we're talking about the trouble local law enforcement agencies are having filling their ranks and keeping cops on board. We'll sort through the myriad reasons and theories for the hiring challenges. Also, it's been a long time since Setlist columnist Collin Yeo hit a live performance. His story this week both reviews the Eureka Symphony's 30th opening weekend at the Arkley Center for the Performing Arts and shares what it's like attending an in-person show again, this time with vaccination cards and masks. Finally, we're indulging our sweet tooth and reveling in the cloying joy of candy corn, the seasonal treat folks love to hate. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, August 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Beacon of Hope and a Community's Center

Posted By on Sun, Aug 22, 2021 at 10:35 AM

As Humboldt State University prepares to start a new semester, we look at its Project Rebound, which supports formerly incarcerated students on campus, as well as the inspiring stories of its founder and students. And we discuss the big things happening at the Jefferson Community Center in Eureka, which the Westside Community Improvement Association has transformed from a dilapidated former school into a vibrant hub of activity. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, February 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Eureka's Needle Exchange Battle and Supporting BIPOC Youth

Posted By on Sat, Feb 6, 2021 at 12:02 PM

This week we're looking into how and why the city of Eureka continues to butt heads with Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction over needle exchange. Also, we're talking about a new local nonprofit nurturing and supporting BIPOC youth, HC Black Music and Arts Association. Its organizers are putting on Harambee Liberation Month, a series of Zoom workshops, classes and presentations, as well as a memorial march for kids and families, all February. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday, August 14, 2020

NCJ Preview: Talking with Cutcha Risling Baldy about Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and Two-Spirit People

Posted By on Fri, Aug 14, 2020 at 10:58 AM

This week we're talking about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and Two-Spirit people with guest Cutcha Risling Baldy of Humboldt State University's Native American Studies department. A recent report sheds light on the unsolved cases in Humboldt — Risling Baldy shares the history and laws contributing to the violence. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 23, 2020

NCJ Preview: Early Prison Releases, Socially Distant Hikes and Lao Dishes on the Menu

Posted By on Thu, Jul 23, 2020 at 5:41 PM

This week we're taking a tour around the county with photographer Mark Larson, who's turned socially distant hiking into a mission. We're also looking at how Public Health and parole staff are handling the logistics and health concerns regarding early release for state prisoners. And if you've been waiting for Lao food to show up in a local restaurant, now is your moment — we'll share how chef Ronnie Worasen is bringing back khao poon and other specialties. Hit subscribe and get weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 6, 2020

NCJ Preview: Local Protests and Our New Dining Normal

Posted By on Sat, Jun 6, 2020 at 3:08 PM

This week we're talking about the Black Lives Matter/George Floyd protests against police brutality in Eureka. And as restaurants open for dine-in service, what's the new normal and can they survive? Hit subscribe for weekly updates from the NCJ YouTube channel and rundowns of local stories in Humboldt County.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, January 23, 2020

NCJ Preview with Access Humboldt

Posted By on Thu, Jan 23, 2020 at 4:55 PM

This week news editor Thad Greenson and arts and features editor Jennifer Fumiko Cahill talk with host David Frank about an off-duty assault that cost a local police officer his job, a not weird enough Netflix series set (but not filmed) in Humboldt and a couple of classic Chinese American recipes for crab. Watch the video below and click to subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Top Commenters

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation