Community

Saturday, October 23, 2021

NCJ Preview: Native Boarding School Deaths, COVID Update and More

Posted By on Sat, Oct 23, 2021 at 2:19 PM

As the U.S. and Canada face a reckoning over the abuse of Indigenous children in their forced boarding school systems, researchers in Oregon have been working to document the deaths of children at the Chemawa Indian School. Some of those children were from here in Humboldt County. We'll talk about the effort to bring their lives and deaths to light. Also, we're breaking down newly released COVID-19 data relating to the Delta surge and how it has impacted vaccinated and unvaccinated locals. On a lighter note, we've got a satirical take on the hiring crisis, imagining how hard it must be for a villain to find good henchmen these days. And finally, we'll take you from Centerville Beach to the top of Grasshopper Peak for another sea-to-summit adventure. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, October 16, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccines and County Staff, Police Shooting Footage and Restoring the Eureka Theater

Posted By on Sat, Oct 16, 2021 at 2:08 PM

This week we're looking at why the board of supervisors declined to require vaccines for county employees, going for weekly testing for the unvaccinated instead. We're also going into what's on newly released footage from last month's police shooting of a suspect on Mad River Road, as well as how law affects what's made public and how. Meanwhile, in Eureka, an architectural jewel is getting some shine as the Streamline Moderne Eureka Theater is restored, including the secret apartment upstairs. Finally, we've got a little taste of the Feast of our Lady of Fatima at Ferndale's Portuguese Hall. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, October 9, 2021

NCJ Daily: Law Enforcement Staffing, the Symphony's Return and Candy Corn Hate

Posted By on Sat, Oct 9, 2021 at 8:30 AM

This week, we're talking about the trouble local law enforcement agencies are having filling their ranks and keeping cops on board. We'll sort through the myriad reasons and theories for the hiring challenges. Also, it's been a long time since Setlist columnist Collin Yeo hit a live performance. His story this week both reviews the Eureka Symphony's 30th opening weekend at the Arkley Center for the Performing Arts and shares what it's like attending an in-person show again, this time with vaccination cards and masks. Finally, we're indulging our sweet tooth and reveling in the cloying joy of candy corn, the seasonal treat folks love to hate. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Saturday, September 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: Enterprise, Burgers, Place Names and Etiquette

Posted By on Sat, Sep 25, 2021 at 5:18 PM

This week we're looking at the future of the Ferndale Enterprise, newly purchased by North Coast Journal Inc. And it's Burger Week, so we're sharing what's whetting our appetites and whether you can eat 28 burgers in 10 days. Good luck, friends. We'll take a look at the effort to rename Patrick's Point, its fraught history and its recreated Sumeg Village. Finally, we're talking about a little COVID safety and etiquette satire, and why you shouldn't lean on that reply-all button. Do, however, hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around our county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, September 18, 2021

NCJ Preview: Otters, Police Transparency and Blackberry Mania

Posted By on Sat, Sep 18, 2021 at 8:18 AM

This week we're talking about the North Coast Otter Art Initiative and the beautiful painted sculptures created by local artists to raise money for otter research. We defy you to scroll through the offerings without smiling. We're also looking at the importance of de-escalation how a new law makes it possible to gain access to footage of police shootings and use-of-force incidents. Finally, we're celebrating the end of summer with hardcore berry picking and homemade pie. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from all over Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, September 4, 2021

NCJ Preview: The State of COVID and a Nicaraguan Food Journey

Posted By on Sat, Sep 4, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we've got an update on the endemic spread of COVID-19 in our county and the strain it's putting on hospital staff. As numbers climb faster than our vaccination rate, the ICU at St. Joseph Hospital fills and staff deal with illness and deaths of community members — some of whom they know personally. We've also got the story of Alba Lopez, who cooks up her grandmother's recipes and her own at her farmers market stand Nicaraguan Food. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.



  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Monday, August 30, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19, Street Art and a Recall

Posted By on Mon, Aug 30, 2021 at 7:12 AM

This week, we take a closer look at Humboldt County's current COVID-19 surge, which is fueled by the highly contagious Delta variant and threatening local hospital capacity with reverberating impacts. We also discuss the festival transforming Eureka's streets with colorful murals, and what voters need to know to fill out their ballots for the upcoming California recall election. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, August 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Beacon of Hope and a Community's Center

Posted By on Sun, Aug 22, 2021 at 10:35 AM

As Humboldt State University prepares to start a new semester, we look at its Project Rebound, which supports formerly incarcerated students on campus, as well as the inspiring stories of its founder and students. And we discuss the big things happening at the Jefferson Community Center in Eureka, which the Westside Community Improvement Association has transformed from a dilapidated former school into a vibrant hub of activity. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, August 15, 2021

NCJ Preview: A COVID Survivor's Regret and the Uncertainty of Dining In

Posted By on Sun, Aug 15, 2021 at 1:00 PM

As Humboldt County COVID-19 cases continue to spike, a pandemic denier gets sick and now wants others to avoid his mistake, urging everyone to get vaccinated. And is it safe to dine-in at our favorite restaurants as the Delta variant surges and so many of us haven't gotten our shots? We'll also talk about a recent briefing at the Monument, which continues to burn along State Route 299 east of Willow Creek. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, August 7, 2021

NCJ Preview: Return of the Mask and the Best of Humboldt

Posted By on Sat, Aug 7, 2021 at 8:03 AM

Here we go again: Humboldt County COVID-19 cases are spiking, with the more contagious Delta variant in the mix. To stem the tide, Public Health announced a masking order, requiring facial coverings in public and indoors when outside the home or outside where 6 feet of distance isn't possible. We'll break down how we got here, what we know about the Delta variant and what it means for planned events (including the Journal's Best of Humboldt party, which is now postponed). This week's cover story is our Best of Humboldt issue, so we'll be looking at some of the more unusual categories, upsets and favorites. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation