Community

Saturday, August 13, 2022

NCJ Preview: Murals, Fire, Fish and Gyros

Posted By on Sat, Aug 13, 2022 at 3:57 PM

This week we're craning our necks to look up at all the murals from the Eureka Street Art Festival. We'll talk about how the festival's artists ended up paining the pillars of the Samoa Bridge and how you can take a tour. And if you're looking for lunch, we're talking about the new Gyro Shop in Arcata.

On the news side, we're watching the Six Rivers Lightning Strike fires Complex fires, evacuations orders and how firefighters are battling the blazes close to Willow Creek. We'll also go into how a previous fire combined with flash flooding led to a "kill zone" for fish on the Klamath. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Monday, July 18, 2022

NCJ Preview: A Final Fish Farm EIR, Hate in Humboldt and Thai Food in Willow Creek

Posted By on Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 11:25 AM

This week, we're talking about a new report that attempts to quantify the environmental impacts of what would be the world's largest on-shore fish farm in Samoa. Meanwhile, a rash of incidents involving hate and bigotry marred Humboldt County's July Fourth holiday. And finally, Lily's Thai brings a new dining option near Willow Creek. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 9, 2022

NCJ Preview: Firefighter PTSD, Auditor-Controller Deal, Boozy Summer Pie

Posted By on Sat, Jul 9, 2022 at 8:30 AM

The wildfires aren't just devastating our landscapes, they're taking a massive toll on the people who fight them. This week we're talking about the rising PTSD crisis among Cal Fire firefighters and what's being done to combat it. And the county has struck a deal to shorten Auditor-Controller Karen Paz Dominguez' lame duck time. We'll get into what the price tag comes out to and why. And finally, we've got a recipe mashup of vintage desserts: classic vanilla pudding pie and strawberries Romanoff. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 2, 2022

NCJ Preview: Post-Roe, Pride and Oyster Fest Fallout

Posted By on Sat, Jul 2, 2022 at 8:30 AM

After last week's U.S. Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade, we're talking about what it means for California and how we can fight for reproductive rights for everyone. Linda Stansberry joins us to talk about Ferndale Pride and the folks who are making the Victorian Village more welcoming to all. We've got a post-oyster festival breakdown — what it was like off the plaza and in person, and why all those lines were so long. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 11, 2022

NCJ Preview: Election Recap and Happy Lao New Year

Posted By on Sat, Jun 11, 2022 at 11:25 AM

The June 7 election is wrapped up — almost. We've got a rundown of who won what and how close the races are that still haven't been called. That includes the landslide in the auditor-controller race and the 50 percent Natalie Arroyo clings to in the supervisor race. We're also doing an after-party revel in the return of the Lao New Year festivities after a two-year COVID hiatus and what the event means to the close-knit community. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Sunday, May 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: All in the Game - Elections and Arcades

Posted By on Sun, May 29, 2022 at 2:21 PM

With Election Day drawing near, we're looking at the surprisingly contentious auditor-controller race between Cheryl Dillingham and Karen Paz Dominguez — a race in which the candidates are cordial and supporters are the main source of vitriol. We'll get into some background and why accounting is such a hot topic these days. And break out your change jar and gather your quarters because Arcada, the vintage video game and small plates bar from the ladies at Slice of Humboldt Pie, is open at last after a two-year hiatus. We'll talk about the joys of boneless Buffalo wings and Centipede. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 14, 2022

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Brett Watson and Genius Rice

Posted By on Sat, May 14, 2022 at 7:00 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is here with a rundown of classes, camps and workshops to entertain the kids when school is out. Everything from surfing to stage fighting to science camps are in there and we're going over the highlights. We'll also look at what we know about the sexual harassment allegations against Arcata Councilmember Brett Watson based on an outside firm's investigation and some 400 pages of text messages between him and a subordinate employee. And finally, we're happy to share a Chinese recipe for rice that may become your new favorite main dish. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 7, 2022

NCJ Preview: The Search for Emmi and the Relief of Rage Runs

Posted By on Sat, May 7, 2022 at 10:50 AM

May 5 was a day of awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and 2 Spirit People. For contributor Cutcha Risling Baldy, it's personal, as her cousin Emmilee Risling is among the missing. This week we have Risling Baldy's personal account and how a nonprofit brought resources for a massive search that isn't over yet. We're also talking about running to deal with pandemic-level stress. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, April 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: Redacted Reports and Piping Hot Pupusas

Posted By on Sat, Apr 23, 2022 at 8:00 AM

The Journal finally got the requested report on the investigation into deeply misogynistic, violent and dehumanizing messages sent between Eureka Police Department officers centering on Rodrigo Reyna-Sanchez and Mark Meftah. But its heavily redacted text reveals more about obstacles to transparency than it does about the texting scandal. We'll talk about what all those blank spaces tell us. On a more palatable note, we're also marveling at Pupuseria San Miguel opening in Arcata and the Salvadoran woman who's finally turning the cooking she did to make ends meet into her own business with the help of her son. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , ,

Sunday, March 13, 2022

NCJ Preview: Tsunami Sirens and Eureka's Drive-thru Dilemma

Posted By on Sun, Mar 13, 2022 at 6:28 PM

Is it worth it to fix Humboldt's tsunami sirens? This week's cover story looks at the cost and the payoff, as well as whether sirens are as effective as cellphone alerts and other warning systems. And as a petition circulates to keep Annie's Cambodian Cuisine from being converted into a Starbucks, we'll talk about what the Planning Commission will be considering regarding the proposed demolition and construction. Has Eureka had enough drive-thru chain restaurants or is it hungry for more? Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation