Business / Economy

Saturday, February 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Humboldt's COVID Variant and Under the Table Food Businesses

Posted By on Sat, Feb 27, 2021 at 12:26 PM

Humboldt is back in the red risk tier — we'll talk about why and what it means, as well as how the county ended up with its own COVID variant. Also, home cooks and out-of-work professionals are cooking and selling meals from home to make ends meet. But unlike in other counties in California, it's not legal. Hit subscribe to get updates on local stories every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, January 30, 2021

NCJ Preview: A Broken Recycling System and a Crab Cioppino for the Ages

Posted By on Sat, Jan 30, 2021 at 11:22 AM

This week we're looking at California's recycling deposit system and how it became broken to the point local residents have to drive to Crescent City to redeem their deposits or just accept the deposits as a kind of tax, while local grocers face new fees. It's a mess. Speaking of which, get out your bibs because it's time for crab cioppino! NCJ Freelancer Rod Kausen shares his mother's recipe, which was a mainstay at Ferndale's Ivanhoe for years.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Saturday, January 23, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vaccination, Losing a Local Icon and Small Restaurant Survival

Posted By on Sat, Jan 23, 2021 at 10:00 AM

This week we're looking into the plan to vaccinate Humboldt residents — how it's going and what's in the way. We'll look back at the life of local restaurant owner Esteban Gonzales, who died last week, and the lives he impacted. And while the pandemic has been brutal on restaurants, we talked to folks at a pair of two- to three-person operations that are staying afloat. Hit subscribe for weekly chats about the stories people are talking about in Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, January 10, 2021

NCJ Preview: Teetering Between Risk Tiers and Larrupin Sauce Lost and Found

Posted By on Sun, Jan 10, 2021 at 10:18 AM

This week we're talking about COVID numbers that will likely push Humboldt back into the puple "widespread risk" tier. And if you were wondering why Larrupin sauce was hard to find for a while there, we've got the lowdown on the supply cutoff, shortage, hoarding and scams that kept it off local shelves until recently. For weekly updates on Humboldt stories, hit subscribe.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, December 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: Howling at Pandemic Fatigue and Restaurants Hit by COVID

Posted By on Fri, Dec 11, 2020 at 3:32 PM

While most 8 p.m. howlers have gone silent, two little girls in Blue Lake are still making themselves heard in support of frontline workers. We'll talk about them and reasons, the practice fell off, including pandemic fatigue, which has real consequences. We're also taking a look at the toll on restaurants and staff when employees test positive or are exposed to COVID-19. Get weekly updates on Humboldt's local stories by hitting subscribe.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, October 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Baking, Mountain Lion Mamas and Upscale Climate Refugees

Posted By on Thu, Oct 22, 2020 at 5:21 PM

This week we've got Nora Mounce (and her son Leroy) on to talk about the history and resurgence of spicy, boozy election cakes. We'll also get into how climate change, COVID and wildfires combine to impact the local real estate market, as people facing the prospect of rising temps, smoke and remote work look to move to towns like Trinidad. What does it mean for locals looking for a place to live? And if you saw the viral mountain lion mama video, you might want to hear what a local State Parks guide had to say about it and staying safe in mountain lion country. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on the stories people are talking about in Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 18, 2020

NCJ Preview: Smoke, Fire and Risking Live Shows in a Pandemic

Posted By on Fri, Sep 18, 2020 at 1:04 PM

Fire everywhere and smoke all over Humboldt. We'll break down what's happening with the closes wildfires and why even places some distance away were blanketed with smoke and orange haze last week. Plus what the future of the North Coast looks like in terms of climate and fire. We're also talking about venues that are going ahead with live shows despite public health orders and those holding back. What are the risks of deciding the show must go on? Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, September 3, 2020

NCJ Preview: Farewell Frankovich, New Reopening Guidelines and Humboldt To Go

Posted By on Thu, Sep 3, 2020 at 9:48 AM

This week starts with the news of Humboldt County Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich's resignation. Then we're breaking down what the new state guidelines mean for Humboldt County, and how local testing and cases can looses or tighten restrictions on businesses like gyms and restaurants during shelter in place. We're also looking into how a Facebook group about takeout, Humboldt To Go, blew up in terms of membership and controversy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Recent Comments

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation