Business / Economy

Thursday, November 5, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Night, a Run on Guns and to Bar or Not to Bar

Posted By on Thu, Nov 5, 2020 at 5:25 PM

Tuesday's election is a waiting game for Humboldt, too. We'll talk about why and how the national election, as well as COVID and recent protests have fueled a boom in local gun sales. And now that bars are open, we'll look at what they have to change to comply with safety restrictions and what your bartender hopes you'll keep in mind. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, October 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Election Baking, Mountain Lion Mamas and Upscale Climate Refugees

Posted By on Thu, Oct 22, 2020 at 5:21 PM

This week we've got Nora Mounce (and her son Leroy) on to talk about the history and resurgence of spicy, boozy election cakes. We'll also get into how climate change, COVID and wildfires combine to impact the local real estate market, as people facing the prospect of rising temps, smoke and remote work look to move to towns like Trinidad. What does it mean for locals looking for a place to live? And if you saw the viral mountain lion mama video, you might want to hear what a local State Parks guide had to say about it and staying safe in mountain lion country. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on the stories people are talking about in Humboldt.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 18, 2020

NCJ Preview: Smoke, Fire and Risking Live Shows in a Pandemic

Posted By on Fri, Sep 18, 2020 at 1:04 PM

Fire everywhere and smoke all over Humboldt. We'll break down what's happening with the closes wildfires and why even places some distance away were blanketed with smoke and orange haze last week. Plus what the future of the North Coast looks like in terms of climate and fire. We're also talking about venues that are going ahead with live shows despite public health orders and those holding back. What are the risks of deciding the show must go on? Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Friday, September 11, 2020

NCJ Preview: What's Next for Public Health and the Fragile Economics of Dine-in

Posted By on Fri, Sep 11, 2020 at 11:29 AM

Why is Humboldt's Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich resigning and what does it mean for the future of the county's COVID-19 response? We'll get into that and whether dine-in service is enough to save local restaurants. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories and catch us on Access Humboldt and KZZH.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, September 3, 2020

NCJ Preview: Farewell Frankovich, New Reopening Guidelines and Humboldt To Go

Posted By on Thu, Sep 3, 2020 at 9:48 AM

This week starts with the news of Humboldt County Public Health Officer Teresa Frankovich's resignation. Then we're breaking down what the new state guidelines mean for Humboldt County, and how local testing and cases can looses or tighten restrictions on businesses like gyms and restaurants during shelter in place. We're also looking into how a Facebook group about takeout, Humboldt To Go, blew up in terms of membership and controversy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, July 23, 2020

NCJ Preview: Early Prison Releases, Socially Distant Hikes and Lao Dishes on the Menu

Posted By on Thu, Jul 23, 2020 at 5:41 PM

This week we're taking a tour around the county with photographer Mark Larson, who's turned socially distant hiking into a mission. We're also looking at how Public Health and parole staff are handling the logistics and health concerns regarding early release for state prisoners. And if you've been waiting for Lao food to show up in a local restaurant, now is your moment — we'll share how chef Ronnie Worasen is bringing back khao poon and other specialties. Hit subscribe and get weekly updates on Humboldt stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 16, 2020

NCJ Preview: How COVID-19 Hits Latinx Humboldt Hardest and Closing Bars and Dining Rooms

Posted By on Thu, Jul 16, 2020 at 1:12 PM

This week we're talking with Access Humboldt about the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on Latinx and Hispanic communities in Humboldt. And as confirmed cases spike in California, spurring the closure of bars and ending indoor dining service, we'll share what restaurant and bar owners and workers are going through and how they're coping. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories via the Journal's YouTube Channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday, July 2, 2020

NCJ Preview: Servers Under Pressure, Risking Bars and Barbecues, and Voting by Mail

Posted By on Thu, Jul 2, 2020 at 1:18 PM

This week's conversation with Access Humboldt starts with the flak Humboldt restaurant staff are taking from patrons who don't want to wear masks. On top of the stresses of increased protocols during the pandemic and exposure to scores of local and visiting customers, it's a lot. And while opening bars is a concern, Humboldt's public health officer warns casual socializing between households — our friends and families — is a major threat to safety. We've also got a breakdown of voting by mail in November. Hit subscribe for weekly updates. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 6, 2020

NCJ Preview: Local Protests and Our New Dining Normal

Posted By on Sat, Jun 6, 2020 at 3:08 PM

This week we're talking about the Black Lives Matter/George Floyd protests against police brutality in Eureka. And as restaurants open for dine-in service, what's the new normal and can they survive? Hit subscribe for weekly updates from the NCJ YouTube channel and rundowns of local stories in Humboldt County.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Friday, May 22, 2020

NCJ Preview: Slowdown Criteria and Soup for Vulnerable Seniors

Posted By on Fri, May 22, 2020 at 1:29 PM

We're with Access Humboldt talking about rising COVID-19 case numbers and opening the county. How many is too many and what would make Humboldt pump the brakes on opening? We've also got a story about the owner of Humboldt Soup Co., who's bringing soup to seniors in low-income housing so they can have nutritious food and so she can sleep at night. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County news and people on the NCJ YouTube channel.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2020 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation