Business / Economy

Saturday, July 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: An Organic Waste Overhaul and New Food and Brew Offerings in Arcata

Posted By on Sat, Jul 23, 2022 at 7:00 AM

Humboldt County's trash collection system is about to get a lot more complicated, with a new state law taking effect aimed at reducing climate pollutants and creating a closed-loop organic waste economy. Meanwhile, a new brewery and deli in Arcata is offering up sandwiches and small-batch brews and recently released documents shed new light on a chaotic 2016 police shooting in Eureka. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Monday, July 18, 2022

NCJ Preview: A Final Fish Farm EIR, Hate in Humboldt and Thai Food in Willow Creek

Posted By on Mon, Jul 18, 2022 at 11:25 AM

This week, we're talking about a new report that attempts to quantify the environmental impacts of what would be the world's largest on-shore fish farm in Samoa. Meanwhile, a rash of incidents involving hate and bigotry marred Humboldt County's July Fourth holiday. And finally, Lily's Thai brings a new dining option near Willow Creek. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around the county.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, July 2, 2022

NCJ Preview: Post-Roe, Pride and Oyster Fest Fallout

Posted By on Sat, Jul 2, 2022 at 8:30 AM

After last week's U.S. Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade, we're talking about what it means for California and how we can fight for reproductive rights for everyone. Linda Stansberry joins us to talk about Ferndale Pride and the folks who are making the Victorian Village more welcoming to all. We've got a post-oyster festival breakdown — what it was like off the plaza and in person, and why all those lines were so long. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday, May 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: All in the Game - Elections and Arcades

Posted By on Sun, May 29, 2022 at 2:21 PM

With Election Day drawing near, we're looking at the surprisingly contentious auditor-controller race between Cheryl Dillingham and Karen Paz Dominguez — a race in which the candidates are cordial and supporters are the main source of vitriol. We'll get into some background and why accounting is such a hot topic these days. And break out your change jar and gather your quarters because Arcada, the vintage video game and small plates bar from the ladies at Slice of Humboldt Pie, is open at last after a two-year hiatus. We'll talk about the joys of boneless Buffalo wings and Centipede. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, April 23, 2022

NCJ Preview: Redacted Reports and Piping Hot Pupusas

Posted By on Sat, Apr 23, 2022 at 8:00 AM

The Journal finally got the requested report on the investigation into deeply misogynistic, violent and dehumanizing messages sent between Eureka Police Department officers centering on Rodrigo Reyna-Sanchez and Mark Meftah. But its heavily redacted text reveals more about obstacles to transparency than it does about the texting scandal. We'll talk about what all those blank spaces tell us. On a more palatable note, we're also marveling at Pupuseria San Miguel opening in Arcata and the Salvadoran woman who's finally turning the cooking she did to make ends meet into her own business with the help of her son. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , ,

Saturday, February 5, 2022

NCJ Preview: Cal Poly Humboldt Plans, Feeding Lao and Hmong Families

Posted By on Sat, Feb 5, 2022 at 8:30 AM

What does the shift to Cal Poly Humboldt mean beyond a run on HSU hoodies? We'll break down the infrastructure, curriculum and housing impacts on the university, the city of Arcata and Humboldt at large. We've also got a story on how Hmong and Lao community members are working with Redwood Coast Regional Center and Food for People to get needed staples and product to families in need. Hit subscribe for weekly update on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, January 29, 2022

NCJ Preview: Watson Texts, Measure S and New Year Cookies

Posted By on Sat, Jan 29, 2022 at 8:25 AM

This week, we're looking at the still undisclosed allegations against Arcata Mayor Brett Watson from the perspective of texts between city councilmembers and what it tells us about the frustrations and confusion behind the scenes. We're also breaking down why local cannabis farmers are struggling in the legal market and asking the county for a break on fast approaching tax bills. This after the supervisors' decision to give across the board raises to county employees, deepening an approaching budget hole. And as Lunar New Year approaches, we have Wendy Chan's revival of golden almond cookies. (Spoiler: The secret is lard.) Hit subscribe for updates on stories from around Humboldt County every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sunday, December 19, 2021

NCJ Preview: ACEs and Doctors, a Cafe's Community

Posted By on Sun, Dec 19, 2021 at 5:00 PM

This week we're looking at how local pediatricians are considering toxic stress and ACEs — adverse childhood experiences — in their diagnoses and treatments. In some cases, that means recommending other means of support and stress relief for kids and their families, instead of immediately turning to medication. It's a holistic approach that's seeing some success. And Old Town Coffee and Chocolates is for sale. We talked to the owners about how the business and its community of patrons have grown and changed over nearly two decades and a pandemic. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , ,

Monday, December 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: Missed Messages, Card Art and Taco Joy

Posted By on Mon, Dec 13, 2021 at 10:32 AM

This week we're grateful to be able to share the email correspondence between Heather Muller and her mother over the course of the pandemic and some of the issues it raises: How are we talking with and past one another about safety, vaccination and social isolation? We're also looking at The Card Show, an annual group exhibition that's at Epitome Gallery this year, with 270 playing card sized and inspired pieces. It's a showcase of local artists, a bargain-hunting event and a way to support local creators. Finally, we're talking new Mexican restaurants — Taqueria Tecoman's Mexico City-style offerings in Humboldt Hill and Fortuna's Locha's Mexican Restaurant, which is carrying on the family matriarch's spirit and recipes. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, November 20, 2021

NCJ Preview: Salmon, Chili Dogs and Fiscal Drama

Posted By on Sat, Nov 20, 2021 at 9:09 AM

This week's cover story looks at the impact of the salmon population on Native communities, culturally, economically and in terms of survival. We also have a story on the Civil Grand Jury investigation of the Auditor-Controller's Office and what the recent Board of Trustees' letter of no-confidence means. We're also looking back on Fortuna's iconic Bob's Footlong, which closes this week after 72 years. Hit subscribe for updates on stories from all over Humboldt County.


  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2022 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation