Business / Economy

Saturday, July 24, 2021

NCJ Preview: Vax Efforts as COVID-19 Spreads and Restaurant Transformations

Posted By on Sat, Jul 24, 2021 at 8:31 AM

Humboldt's COVID-19 numbers are climbing. We're talking about how vaccination, the Delta variant are impacting people in our county. On a hopeful note, we've got a cover story on vaccination fairs and True North's efforts to reach out to the local Latinx community, sometimes one person at a time. And we've got the story of how a pair of restaurants with long histories and strong followings — Gallagher's Irish Pub and Mazzotti's on the Plaza — are reinventing themselves in a new spot and the old one, respectively. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 26, 2021

NCJ Preview: Lawyers in Trouble, Live Music and Indoor Dining

Posted By on Sat, Jun 26, 2021 at 8:00 AM

This week we've got a story about the state bar possibly suspending a pair of lawyers for ethics violations while representing the county in a case that's already yielded a $1 million lawsuit. Setlist columnist Collin Yeo joins us to talk about the thrill and anxiety of inching back to live music shows, and highlights of this week's gigs. We're also looking at how restaurants are taking varied approaches to seating capacity and masking now that indoor dining restrictions have been lifted. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, June 5, 2021

NCJ Preview

Posted By on Sat, Jun 5, 2021 at 8:00 AM

With a new batch of ugly messages between members of a Eureka police unit revealing a culture of misogyny and cruel and violent attitudes toward homeless and mentally ill people, the department faces a reckoning. We'll go over how the police officers' extensive workplace protections affect the impact and secrecy of that reckoning. And Eureka and Arcata have a couple of new food trucks, one at the county's first cannabis consumption lounge, and the other at a winery. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Thursday, May 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Drought, Humboldt's High COVID Numbers and Monster Advice

Posted By on Thu, May 27, 2021 at 5:57 PM

This week we're looking at how historic drought conditions are hitting the state and our county, and what it means for fires, salmon and daily life for residents amid what may be our new climate normal. And how did Humboldt wind up with the state's worst COVID-19 numbers? And how can we turn it around? We've got a story on where all the bicycles have gone during the pandemic, as well as a little humor, imagining how the CDC might handle vampires and zombies. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt stories. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 22, 2021

NCJ Preview: COVID-19's Local Casualties, the Privilege of Vaccine Access and the Future of a Farm Stand

Posted By on Sat, May 22, 2021 at 9:00 AM

On the anniversary of Humboldt's first COVID-19 death, we're looking back on the people we lost with glimpses of their lives gleaned from obituaries and interviews with family members. We're also talking about the vaccines we now have access to — a live-saving option those lost didn't have — and what it could mean if we don't take advantage and get Humboldt vaccinated. Lastly, we're looking at the future of Kneeland Glen Farm Stand, the owner of which is facing eviction by the Northcoast Regional Land Trust, which owns the property as part of the Freshwater Farms Reserve. Hit subscribe for updates on Humboldt County stories every week. 
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Saturday, May 15, 2021

NCJ Preview: Summer Camps, Vaccine Supplies and Oyster Fest

Posted By on Sat, May 15, 2021 at 9:07 AM

The Journal's annual Summer of Fun issue is out now, with plenty of COVID-19 adapted fun to occupy the kids. On the news side, we've got the tale the rush to get vaccines to Humboldt in the wake of a missed shipment and how we ended up with a glut of vaccines in time for broadened eligibility. We're also looking at the plans taking shape for this year's Arcata Bay Oyster Festival, which will have both virtual and in-person components. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , ,

Sunday, April 25, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Toll of Empty Stages, Code Enforcement Piling Up and a COVID Update

Posted By on Sun, Apr 25, 2021 at 11:01 AM

In this week's NCJ Preview, host David Frank and Journal news editor Thadeus Greenson talk about the toll COVID-19 has taken on local musicians, why county code enforcement cases are piling up at an alarming rate and how local COVID-19 case rates are climbing as vaccination appointments go unfilled. Read more about all these stories in this week's Journal, and hit subscribe for weekly updates on local stories.

  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 13, 2021

NCJ Preview: The Breakdown on COVID-19 and Vaccines, and Asian Takeout in Hoopa

Posted By on Sat, Mar 13, 2021 at 10:38 AM

It's been a week full of news about Humboldt's new COVID-19 cases, risk tier, and vaccine availability and distribution. We'll give you the rundown on where things stand right now. We've also got a story about how a Native family food business is thriving at the Hoopa Trading Post, bringing Southeast Asian home cooking to folks there under a different approach to boosting the economy. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on stories from around Humboldt County.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, March 6, 2021

NCJ Preview: Klamath Dam Turning Point and New Food Trucks

Posted By on Sat, Mar 6, 2021 at 10:49 AM

The agreement to remove the Klamath dams has never seemed so promising but it's taken generations of Native activists and organizers to get here. We're talking about the behind-the-scenes moves, protests and a showdown on the river with Berkshire Hathaway executives, and how they impacted the fight. Also, a trio of new food trucks are feeding locals' cravings for fried chicken, hot salsa, New Orleans fare and COVID-adapted bar service. Hit subscribe for weekly updates on Humboldt County stories.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday, February 27, 2021

NCJ Preview: Humboldt's COVID Variant and Under the Table Food Businesses

Posted By on Sat, Feb 27, 2021 at 12:26 PM

Humboldt is back in the red risk tier — we'll talk about why and what it means, as well as how the county ended up with its own COVID variant. Also, home cooks and out-of-work professionals are cooking and selling meals from home to make ends meet. But unlike in other counties in California, it's not legal. Hit subscribe to get updates on local stories every week.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , , , , ,

Care2 Take Action?

socialize

Facebook | Twitter

© 2021 North Coast Journal

Website powered by Foundation